Removing Sprint apps


Last Updated:

  1. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    I believe I've just rooted my phone, but haven't put a custom ROM on yet.

    I've got a few questions about it:

    1.) What Sprint apps can be removed without affecting other things? (such as weather widget)

    2.) Is there a way to eliminate some of the boot screens (especially the Sprint one) without putting a custom ROM on?

    3.) Will root alone, and the removal of those worthless apps speed up my phone a bit? (especially the occasional lag in bringing the notification screen down)

    4.) Can these changes be undone one by one rather than doing a complete recovery?

    Thanks in advance for your help.
     

    Advertisement
  2. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    65
    Hate to answer with a silly question, but why ROOT it just to ROOT it?
    Without purpose or doing homework prior to?

    "A little knowledge can be a dangerous thing!"

    Lolz...

    Google should be your friend about right now... the answers to your questions are out there and it is best if you learn what you are tinkering with, but be very careful.

    Happy Trails!
    :cool:
     
  3. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    I've looked at this for quite some time. These questions are more clarifications from a first person perspective, in order to make up my mind on exactly what I want to do with it. There's no reason to be an ass about it.
     
  4. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    65
    Sorry but that was not my intent... The information is out there and I feel YOU should know what to do and how to do it so that if anything you do you are not happy with, YOU can reverse. Getting a simple answer does not provide that for you and certainly should not be interpreted as being an ASS about it.

    Goto XDA, where the information is available, I think there was a thread here too providing some details on what you wish to archive.

    On another note, I know the CS customers who have posted here have the Hero without any of the Sprintware on their phones. It would be interesting to possibly have a backup image from one of their phones (rooted) to use, lol. Just a thought, but...

    Happy Trails!
    :cool:
     
  5. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    and that is the reason I asked, to get a first hand perspective from people who actually did it, and could put it in more of a layman's terms. I find myself pretty "techy", but it doesn't mean I know the terms they use. I'm certainly not trying to get anyone to do it for me.
     
  6. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
  7. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    Thanks for that, I had already found it earlier though :)

    Even decided to put the Fresh ROM on it to see what the hype was all about...guess I don't notice much difference, but I haven't exactly pushed it to perform much yet. I do notice that I seem to no longer be able to roam (even after updating profile and PRL)...weird
     

Share This Page

Loading...