Replace system application, not wont install new apk


Last Updated:

  1. LarsWall

    LarsWall Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    I searched and couldn't find an answer. I'm trying to install a different version of genie.apk than the one that came from the OTA 2.2. I uninstalled the stock version, and now when I try to install the new one through root manager, or astro, it says that application wasn't installed. Any suggestions?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Nicks88

    Nicks88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    59
    Try a reboot, then install.
     
  3. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,041
    Likes Received:
    8,504
    Try placing it in system/app using Root Explorer and launch from there.
     
  4. LarsWall

    LarsWall Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Tried both of those, neither worked. Mounted in Root Explorer using R/w and this is what i see [​IMG]
     
  5. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,041
    Likes Received:
    8,504
    Maybe the version you are trying isn't compatible? At any rate, you could try to push it via adb if you're familiar w/ it.

    adb push GenieWidget.apk /system/app/
     
  6. LarsWall

    LarsWall Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm going to learn more about ADB and try that. Also make sure if the apk I have is correct.
     
  7. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,041
    Likes Received:
    8,504
    Yeah, I'm getting fuzzier by the day since leaning so hard on Root Explorer anymore but if you put the .apk into the sdk tools folder, you'd then boot to clockwork and mount system. Then at CMD:


    cd\sdk\tools
    adb shell

    adb push GenieWidget.apk /system/app/
    adb reboot

    (note the space after .apk)

    Might be wise to have somebody double check my commands by memory. :D Also, not sure if you could/should do the same command for GenieWidget.odex /system/app or not and if so, if it is pushed by association with the .apk or what?
     
    LarsWall likes this.
  8. The_Law2

    The_Law2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    12
    You don't go into adb shell. Just adb push from the tools directory. And if it still doesn't work after that, then yeah it's not compatible. I have the clear genie widget if people need me to post it.
     
    iowabowtech likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...