[REQ] Slide-out-keyboard to unlockSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Qazz~

    Qazz~ Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know that this has been posted before but most of the solutions given were apps that either totally removed all locks from the phone, were buggy, or were to remove the on-screen slide to unlock

    I personally find the on-screen slide to unlock useful.

    However, when i slide out my keyboard, i expect the phone to automatically unlock itself. Currently this does not happen and it's getting annoying. All i want to do is to slide out my keyboard and start texting or whatever but i have to slide up to unlock in the landscape position first....

    Any one has a solution to this?
     

    Advertisement
  2. TelusMilestone

    TelusMilestone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    35
    I know what you mean by this as it was cumbersome at first to get used to but honestly you can slide open the keyboard and unlock it with your thumb(right handed) all in one motion ;) Just a thought other then packing your phone with software :D It takes an extra second to do that lol Sorry I couldn't help further but I've soon realized that sometimes you just deal with it like not have a great selection of cases where I'm from! :mad: So frustrating!
     
  3. Qazz~

    Qazz~ Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's just a simple thing, wonder why it was not implemented... almost all other slider phones unlock when you open it...
     
  4. Brendanmurphy

    Brendanmurphy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    16
    Its probably not implemented because if it opens in your pocket on comes the screen and it unlocks its self. Waste of battery so its better that its not implemented.
     
  5. Qazz~

    Qazz~ Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know thats true but most other sliders do unlock upon opening, the odds of it opening in your pocket is virtually zero since it does not have a spring mechanism to push it open. i used to own other sliders and the convenience of hardware unlocking is really great.
    just a push and it unlocks, however, for the milestone you gotta push, slide the onscreen lock then it unlocks...

    still no answers?
    i don't want reasons as to why it is not implemented but solutions to rectify it...
     
  6. ronsalvador

    ronsalvador Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    try lockbot pro.
     
  7. dmo580

    dmo580 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    4
    Let's look at this from a feasibility standpoint.

    Forget all the reasons as to why this is bad and why developers might not have put this in and disadvantages. Those are opinionated answers.

    Look at this from a developer's standpoint. The slide event is the same as a screen poweron event. Essentially you're pressing the power button when you slide it open except you dictate that the phone will be used in landscape mode.

    So if you don't want a lock screen when you slide, you essentially need to remove the lock screen when you press the power button... remove the lock screen entirely. So either there's a lock or no lock. That's what you're asking for....
     
  8. leekslk

    leekslk New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I use mylock (search on market). set it to automatic and it would either unlock when you press the power button, or slide the screen.

    However, like what everyone is saying, you can't get the best of both worlds for now. So its either power/slide to unlock all together OR power + slide lockbar to unlock and slide screen + slide lock bar to unlock.

    = )
     
  9. fejker

    fejker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    50
    I use Screen Mode Widget Lite. Works OK.
     

Share This Page

Loading...