ReRoot A Captivate now running 2.2?


Last Updated:

  1. Marinate305

    Marinate305 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am wondering if it is ok to use the superone click rooting method (or any rooting method) on my Samsung Captivate now running froyo 2.2. I am relatively new to this stuff so let me fill you in on what I have done so far:
    I rooted my Captivate fine no problem and I was granted super user permissions with the app that was installed after I rebooted. Then I downloaded the Titanium Backup and Busy Box applications out of the market. No problem. I removed all my ATT Bloatware from the phone by uninstalling them no problem phone is working great. HERE IS WHERE I MESSED UP! I didnt back up all my apps like I was supposed to on Titanium Back up and when I upgraded and put froyo 2.2 in my phone I basically lost everything, all my apps....my superuser app my titanum backup and my busy box included. Not only that when I upgraded to 2.2 it also reloaded all the Bloatware back onto my phone which I do not want, Family Maps, Att Maps Att Music etc...And the 2.2 is running perfect on my phone and I have no problems I would just like the superuser permissions and I would like to get rid of this junk that came preloaded on the 2.2 version.

    So I guess my question is, did I also lose my 1st root? And can I root it again without bricking it up? Thanks in advance and I hope this is enough info.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Leftyguy

    Leftyguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,668
    Likes Received:
    102
    Hi & Welcome to the Android Forums - I move your thread to where you should receive better results to your question - Cheers....:)
     
  3. james27007

    james27007 Look into my Eye VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    445
    by flashing the leaked 2.2 it does not matter whjat you did to your phone, everythning was undone and replaced. Also by going to 2.2 you also undid the root. So now you are back at square one. You need to root your phone, reinstall busybox and TiBU to remove the AT&T bloatware; but make ure you backup your stock apps 1st. There is a thread here on how to root 2.2' if you get stuck, PM me.
     
    Marinate305 likes this.
  4. CR1050

    CR1050 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am in the midst of rooting with ryans one click however i have do not have froyo 2.2 ...
    so if i do want that is a question within its self ? do i ?? and would i loose my apps and root as well ?
     
  5. Marinate305

    Marinate305 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks J, I can do all that I have no problem there is a easy one click method now that shouldnt be a problem. Quick question I guess what app or how should I backup all my apps I currently have? Is there something in the market that backs them up that doesnt require a root? And when I rooted the 1st time I never lost any apps, I will this time? Thanks again. I am going to root it up again and you suggest "freezing" or "uninstalling" the bloatware?
     
  6. Marinate305

    Marinate305 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    CR I rooted primarly to remove junk apps that att force feeds you, att maps, att music etc. I will never need that. I dont remember what rooting method I used one harder than the one click I know that, however, after you root you will need to get titanium backup and busy box to remove the bloatware from your device. Back up all your apps then update to froyo 2.2 (or just wait for them to release it OTA) then restore them (via titanium backup) after you have the new software....From what it looks like J is saying you will lose your root but if you backup all your apps you will still have the superuser permissions and busy box and Tbu, I lost all those bc I didnt backup my apps like I should have prior to updating to 2.2 you can only have those apps if your phone is rooted hope this helps I am new at it myself, BB user for 5+ years..
     

Share This Page

Loading...