• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root ReRoot A Captivate now running 2.2?

I am wondering if it is ok to use the superone click rooting method (or any rooting method) on my Samsung Captivate now running froyo 2.2. I am relatively new to this stuff so let me fill you in on what I have done so far:
I rooted my Captivate fine no problem and I was granted super user permissions with the app that was installed after I rebooted. Then I downloaded the Titanium Backup and Busy Box applications out of the market. No problem. I removed all my ATT Bloatware from the phone by uninstalling them no problem phone is working great. HERE IS WHERE I MESSED UP! I didnt back up all my apps like I was supposed to on Titanium Back up and when I upgraded and put froyo 2.2 in my phone I basically lost everything, all my apps....my superuser app my titanum backup and my busy box included. Not only that when I upgraded to 2.2 it also reloaded all the Bloatware back onto my phone which I do not want, Family Maps, Att Maps Att Music etc...And the 2.2 is running perfect on my phone and I have no problems I would just like the superuser permissions and I would like to get rid of this junk that came preloaded on the 2.2 version.

So I guess my question is, did I also lose my 1st root? And can I root it again without bricking it up? Thanks in advance and I hope this is enough info.

by flashing the leaked 2.2 it does not matter whjat you did to your phone, everythning was undone and replaced. Also by going to 2.2 you also undid the root. So now you are back at square one. You need to root your phone, reinstall busybox and TiBU to remove the AT&T bloatware; but make ure you backup your stock apps 1st. There is a thread here on how to root 2.2' if you get stuck, PM me.

Reactions: Marinate305
Upvote 0