Resizing WidgetsSupport


Last Updated:

  1. green94

    green94 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go easy on me, this is my first Android device. LOVE it by the way.

    I want to resize a few widgets on my home screen to get more visibility to data, but I'm having a tough time doing so. I've read on phones that you "long hold" but that doesn't seem to be working on my Xoom.

    Am I doing something wrong?

    I've also read about Launcher Pro, is this something I need to purchase in order to resize widgets?

    Thanks for your help and I look forward to picking everyones brain about my newest device!
     

    Advertisement
  2. tcallahan

    tcallahan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    3
    Green94,

    The stock honeycomb as far as I can tell does not re-size widgets. And you are correct launcher pro plus does re-size widgets and it IS something you have to purchase to get that feature.. BUT heres the kicker, currently there is not honeycomb version of launcher pro plus soooo right now we are stuck with the default size of the widgets.

    Hope that helps. and welcome to the android family!
     
    miraval likes this.
  3. daddyd302

    daddyd302 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    91
    How did you guys find Launcher Pro? I cannot seem to find it anywhere on my Xoom........
     
  4. green94

    green94 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Excellent, thanks for the help. Seems to be the only downside to what has been a fantastic user experience so far. I'm hoping they will incorporate this feature in the future.

    Since you can resize on the phone I would assume it would come at some point, right? :)

    Tablet > phone as far as screen real estate is concerned!
     
  5. green94

    green94 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is in the Android Market - $2.99 I believe?
     
  6. tcallahan

    tcallahan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    3
    Soon as they have a tablet version of launcher pro etc.... we will be in business!
     
  7. daddyd302

    daddyd302 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    91
    I can't find it in the market. The app is free the plus version is $2.99 which I already have the license for.
     
  8. rjoudrey

    rjoudrey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    125
    I am using it and it rocks. Honeycomb widgets resize perfectly. Download it form Launcherpro.com.
     
  9. MJBarnes

    MJBarnes Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    Downloaded Launcher Pro and it is like an entirely new tablet. Nothing against Honeycomb, but LP+ gives this device a new lease on life.

    As the above post says, the Honeycomb widgets fit in perfectly to the Launcher Pro sizing. I went with 8 columns, 6 rows and 5 screens and it scales nicely.
     
  10. jeff327

    jeff327 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    11
    This device is one day old. Does the Xoom really need a new lease on life already? lol
     
  11. jfoey22

    jfoey22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    149
    Do I need the purchased version?
     
  12. rjoudrey

    rjoudrey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    125
    I am using 10 columns and 9 rows.
     
  13. rjoudrey

    rjoudrey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    125
    For resizing, yes.
     
  14. daddyd302

    daddyd302 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    91
    On my computer or on the Xoom? Do I need any file manager?

    EDIT: Nevermind I got it to work on the Xoom.
     
  15. MJBarnes

    MJBarnes Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    Well, I think my little love affair with Launcher Pro is over... For some reason, I continue to get force closes now. I know I am jumping the gun a bit since it is not actually supported by Honeycomb yet, but it was all going so well.

    I suppose it could be other apps that are causing it as well. Anyone else running in to issues? It happens quite a bit when I have the widgets like CNN and Youtube and pull/push the next frame... Maybe I should try NOT expanding those and see what happens?

    Well if any of you are having force close issues with LP+, let me know.

    Thanks!
     
  16. rjoudrey

    rjoudrey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    125
    Are you using 8.3? I think the CNN widgets is buggy!
     
    MJBarnes likes this.
  17. MJBarnes

    MJBarnes Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    I think you are correct. I removed the CNN widgets and so far no force closes. Bummer, because those are pretty sharp.
     
  18. rjoudrey

    rjoudrey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    125
    There will be a few problems with Launcher Pro but overall it is a great program.
     
  19. talf15

    talf15 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey, its been a month...is there another way to resize the widgets or is Launcher pro still the only way?
     
  20. talf15

    talf15 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey, i was looking back at people trying to resize widgets (i personally am trying to get my bookmark widget to go to 8x6 or so i can display a whole page of bookmarks)...the information is a little old and talks about using the launcher pro to get this done. is this still the best advice?
     
  21. androidguy65

    androidguy65 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    38
    As far as I know that is the best way.
     
    talf15 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...