1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

ReSpot - Spotify Remote for Android


Last Updated:

  1. h3x.se

    h3x.se Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've created a remote control application for spotify called ReSpot.

    It requires a small serverprocess on your pc too.

    More info and download can be found at h3x.se

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement
  2. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ugly.
     
  3. h3x.se

    h3x.se Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I know.

    But it's functional.

    If you have a talent for design you are welcome to help out.
     
  4. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    146
    Pwnd! lol
     
  5. Afront

    Afront Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    32
  6. h3x.se

    h3x.se Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. Nilo

    Nilo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would like to think that I actually have some talent for design. So if you wan't some help with design. I would be happy to help out if I can.
     
  8. coxy

    coxy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. h3x.se

    h3x.se Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Everyone's invited to help out with the UI.

    Who knows - if there's enough interest we can make it skinnable?

    For discussions please join #ReSpot @ freenode
     
  10. h3x.se

    h3x.se Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    This sure looks alot slicker than my feeble attempts :D
     
  11. h3x.se

    h3x.se Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any and all help is greatly appreciated!
     
  12. androcif

    androcif Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    I am quite new to this and cannot get around opening the Servify.jar file in order to be able to use ReSpot. I'm using Mac OSX 10.5.8 and have tried opening Servify.jar through both ways listed on the h3x.se instructions page, but I can't get it to work.

    If I double click the jar file right off the downloads folder, it will say: "cannot be launched, check console for possible error message".

    If I use Terminal and type "java -jar Servify username password localport", it will say: "Unable to access jarfile Servify"

    Am I supposed to place the Servify.jar file in a specific folder?

    If anyone could please shed some light I'd be very grateful....I'm going nutz here!
     
  13. h3x.se

    h3x.se Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    You seem to miss out the ".jar"

    Please try;

    1) java -jar Servify.jar username password localport

    or

    2) java -jar Servify.jar

    (the second option will bring up the GUI)
     
  14. androcif

    androcif Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey there, thanks for the tip. I typed both commands exactly as you showed but I still keep getting the same message: "Unable to access jarfile Servify.jar"

    anything to do with classpath maybe?
     
  15. h3x.se

    h3x.se Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Shouldnt have to set the classpath really.

    try to specify the full path to the .jar maybe?

    java -jar /path/to/Servify.jar

    ?
     
  16. androcif

    androcif Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    No luck still.. will try updating or reinstalling java and see if that changes anything. If you think of anything else that might make it work or otherwise give an idea of what the problem might be, please let me know.

    Thanks a lot for your help & patience.
     
  17. h3x.se

    h3x.se Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hope you get it working. Cant help out much with OSX stuff.
    Though i know others have got it working under OSX.

    Try getting the latest java, if you didnt already have that installed
     
  18. androcif

    androcif Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    BTW, this is what Terminal shows when I prompt java -jar /path/to/Servify.jar

    Last login: Mon Feb 1 22:46:10 on ttys000
    john-s-computer:~ john$ java -jar ./downloads/servify.jar
    Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: Bad version number in .class file
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:676)
    at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:124)
    at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:260)
    at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$100(URLClassLoader.java:56)
    at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:195)
    at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
    at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:188)
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:317)
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:252)
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClassInternal(ClassLoader.java:375)
    at java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)
    at java.lang.Class.forName(Class.java:242)
    at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.jarinjarloader.JarRsrcLoader.main(JarRsrcLoader.java:54)[/I][/I][/I]
     
  19. androcif

    androcif Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will do, thanks again.
     
  20. h3x.se

    h3x.se Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0

    Servify/J is compiled with Java 1.6 so you'll need that version.

    "java -version"
    should tell you what's installed.

    good luck!
     
  21. Crude

    Crude Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    129
    I'm pretty sure gmote does this?
     
  22. h3x.se

    h3x.se Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    not for spotify.
     
  23. androcif

    androcif Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    That was it! I had downloaded the latest version but hadn't checked off V1.5 from java preferences. I got the app running now but without proper functionality. I can find songs on ReSpot but can't load my playlists, nor can I get any songs I find through ReSpot to actually play on the Mac eventhough the log says:
    "OK - Playing"
    "-1"

    When I click playlist: "playlists could not be loaded, probably spotify playlist servers are not responding"
     
  24. h3x.se

    h3x.se Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great!

    First: a premium account is required (but i dont think this is the issue).

    When you search for tracks, 'clicking' them will add them to your PlayQueue in the Playback view. You must go there and click the track to start playback. (not sure if this is the issue though).
    However, when doing this, the connectivity view should say something like
    "OK - Playing"
    "1" (ie: a non negative number => 0, a bit confusing with the ok-playing , i know :) )

    The spotify Playlist servers are unstable, if you Servify at some later point you may get the playlists downloaded (and they are then cached). But at first startup the spotify playlist servers need to be in a good condition, and unfortunately it is not always so. The reason why this is rarely an issue is because the client's will cache your playlists locally, so it's ever only noticed when you first install a client as there will be no cache.

    Basically, retrying/restarting servify *Should* remedy the playlist issue. This is ofcourse not an ideal situation, but it's out of my control really.


    i hope this helps, otherwise pls continue asking, it's helpful for me to know whats working / not working etc :)
     
  25. androcif

    androcif Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok with the premium account and with the playback issue, but still no playlists despite restarting Servify a few times... not really sure I got you about the first install/client issue :-(

    anything else I can do to load my playlists? (key feature!)
     

Share This Page

Loading...