Restoring to "Out of the box" state?


Last Updated:

  1. shaggymatt

    shaggymatt Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    4
    Tough search terms, especially for my situation, so hopefully someone can give me the answer here...

    My Incredible arrived today, and my wife is getting the Droid. So I'd like to return the phone to out of the box new state before giving it to her so that she can install the apps that she wants. More like I can install apps for her. :cool:

    This phone is a replacement phone, I had one with a possessed screen that was replaced by VZW. That phone was rooted, the current Droid is not. So the update.zip on the SD card is not a "Factory" update.zip file.

    If I do the settings/privacy/factory data rest - does that use a file on the device, or does it look to the update.zip file?
     

    Advertisement
  2. CalledFollower

    CalledFollower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    4
    All the factory restore does is clear all data and restore defaults. This is all you'd need if your not rooted.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
    shaggymatt likes this.
  3. shaggymatt

    shaggymatt Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks. Does it leave all applications installed? .
     
  4. kratos

    kratos Back on my throne!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,678
    Likes Received:
    430
    A factory reset will not leave any app on your phone at all. I suggest going to AppBrain - the best Android apps and games on the Android market and creating an account. Then scan the following QR code with your barcode scanner and download the AppBrain app.

    Open the app and choose manage apps. Then select "Sync With AppBrain".

    When you get your new phone, you can download the AppBrain app again and open it. Select manage apps and then "Sync With AppBrain". You can then choose each app you wish to install individually by simply touching the app name in the AppBrain app or (if you wan to install all the apps again), simply touch "Perform Installs" and install each app.

    When you install the first app from the market, I believe the new version of the app will take you directly to the next app to be installed. If it doesn't take you to the next app automatically, just press the back button on your Phone once and that will take you to the next app.

    If you have any questions about this app or how to use it, feel free to ask here or PM me. I am very willing to help you do this.

    [​IMG]

    Kratos
     
    shaggymatt likes this.
  5. shaggymatt

    shaggymatt Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks again to kratos! I just found the same information on the Motorola site: DROID - Master Reset / Factory Data Reset

    I think I want to start with a clean slate, so I'll skip the Appbrain install. Thanks for your offer of assistance!
     
  6. kratos

    kratos Back on my throne!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,678
    Likes Received:
    430
    Fair enough, you're welcome, and any time.

    I would still suggest using AppBrain just because of how ell it works. Also, after you are done with your factory reset, just install AppBrain again and select manage my apps, then sync with app brain. It will pull up all of the apps you previously had installed and you can pick and choose which apps you wish to reinstall. Just touch each individual app and it will take you to that app to install it. Or if you want all of your apps installed again, just press perform installs and then it will automatically take you to each app to reinstall. Just makes it easier to find and install the app you had before.

    Kratos
     

Share This Page

Loading...