reverse tethering...computer to phone.


Last Updated:

  1. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    My husband is in Iraq. I know you use your phone as a modem and use the internet off your phone on your computer. but he wants to reverse it. he wants to use his computer's internet on his phone. does anyone know if this is possible?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Like WiFi?

    Why not just use the computer at that point?
     
  3. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    because where he works, they are switching to Wi-Max so he won't be able to use his phone anymore. he had a touch pro 2 and was able to do this thru windows mobile active sync. we are having a hard time getting the htc sync to work on his or my computer. he is thinking maybe htc sync will give him the ability to do the same as his touch pro 2.
     
  4. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,597
    Likes Received:
    3,221
    how is his computer getting to the internet???
     
  5. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    from wi-max thru his work.
     
  6. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    I can imagine that if he gets HTC sync working that he would be able to "reverse tether" but I don't know for sure.
     
  7. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    does anyone know how to get htc sync to work? i've been trying all day, as has he. i dont think either of us have the right drivers, but not sure how to get the correct ones.
     
  8. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    What OS?
     
  9. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    on my computer windows 7 (64 bit)
     
  10. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
  11. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    my husband and i both tried this workaround and neither of us were successful. i guess i got everything downloaded.....after that, cldn't figure out what to do.
     
  12. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
    I am by far NOT tech savvy. I have no idea how, but it worked for me. I played with it for like 3 hrs one night, and managed to pick the info out of the thread to get it working. Stick with it and play around with it! I'm sure you'll get it to work. Good luck...sorry I can't help more but I'm in way over my head anyhow
     
  13. DFRESH

    DFRESH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    39
    Try asking this question in the XDA Forums, you'll get a better answer and more help...
     

Share This Page

Loading...