• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Review of steps to root and perform nandroid backup

mudking

Mar 12, 2011
I just have a couple questions because I am an Android Noob. I just got my Droid X this week, and I'm already itchin' to root. I'm hoping someone can review this to tell me if I even have a clue about what I'm doing here. I'm no programmer or computer expert, but I can handle this stuff pretty well with goog instruction. First of all, I am not looking to flash custom ROMS.....yet. I just want to root so I can have complete backups and and use "Copy Paste It". Really, I want the backups, I am totally paranoid about backing up my computers and phones. I'm sure after I get used to the platform, I will want more, but that's all I'm after right now, so that should make things simpler, I hope.

My main goal right now is to get a good solid backup. My business partner has an X too, so I need to be able to make sure I have a backup of both phones on a regular basis. Of course, contacts and calendar are all synced with google, so I'm not so concerned about those. I'm just talking about system settings, widgets, apps, app setting, etc. A complete image would be ideal so we can both restore to our customized setups quickly if something goes wrong or we get new phones.

So, I was looking at using Z4Root to root. Then, Droid X Bootstrapper to make a Nandroid backup. Finally, Titanium Backup for more regualr backups of apps and data. From what I understand, Z4Root is pretty straightforward, it either works or it doesn't. My Droid X is stock, running what it came with out of the box:
System version 2.3.340.MB810.Verizon.en.US
Adroid 2.2.1

Everything I've read says that I shouldn't have a problem using Z4Root. Do I need to run OCLF Lag Fix too?