1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

*Rezound ICS OTA is live Thread*General


Last Updated:

  1. Blackthanos

    Blackthanos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    67

    From what I understand and you might want to get confirmation from someone else who is more knowledgeable, but I believe the 4s is technically 3G. They push that it has some technology in it that makes it a little faster(like say 3.5G but I think officially its categorized as a 3G phone.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    550
    Depends on the carrier...

    ATT uses a tech they call 3.5 or 4g "depending on who you talk to"

    VZW is 3G ONLY the VZW 4s does not have a LTE chip...
     
  3. CaseyKees

    CaseyKees Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    40
    It is verizon. I thought I had read that the iphone4 wasn't even 3g, but I think I read wrong or misunderstood. I have tried to tell him he doesn't need a 4g phone to notice a HUGE difference. He has an LG Ally...and it sucks. I think he will see when he uses my Dinc that a REAL 3g phone will be good for him. I have tried to talk him into a different phone, but he likes the way the Ipod syncs with his stereo system in his Dodge Challenger, he's familiar with Itunes, and he's just familiar with the Ipod alltogether. He's not concerned with ANYTHING that gets mentioned here and is tecnically challenged, moreso than myself :eek:
     
  4. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    550
    I've learned over the years its usually better apple people stay apple people :) If they come to me with questions I answer them but that's it. I've had too many experiences were I've become root of all evil :(

    As far as 3G vs 4G I REALLY don't think its a big deal. for normal usage you'd be hard pressed to see a difference.
     
  5. CaseyKees

    CaseyKees Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    40
    LOL He's not an Apple "fanboy" by any means. He just like his Ipod touch, and has had it for 2 years now. For him it's more of just being familar with it!! I am completely lost with some of the technical things you all talk about, for him you all might as well be speaking Chinese.

    I may just get him the 4s if they'll move his date. He could use Siri, believe me and jailbreaking or rooting is not something even I am yet comfortable with! LOL My Dinc is not rooted, though I did install an early update to it once. But I don't even remember what exactly it was. Sometimes I feel as though I'm not worthy to even own one of these high tech phones! :p
     
  6. vzwuser76

    vzwuser76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    298
  7. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    550

    Its build into ICS. If the captive buttons are there ICS uses them...
     
  8. blkbeltkid17

    blkbeltkid17 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,383
    Likes Received:
    690
    this i dont think the phones CPU and GPU can handle ICS
     
  9. Medion

    Medion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,855
    Likes Received:
    958
    CPU meets the specs, and the GPU might. However,the way ICS would use it would cause that chipset to burn through battery life (IF* the GPU can handle it). I think that between battery concerns and a very weak GPU, Google just wasn't happy with ICS on the N1 and decided to scrap it. I always got the impression that Google had wished that OMAP36xx was ready in time for the N1, and that they settled for Snapdragon (S1). But, that's just one nerd's opinion.
     
  10. blkbeltkid17

    blkbeltkid17 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,383
    Likes Received:
    690
    i agree with ya on that one ... what do you think about the "leak" with the phone list that is getting ICS so far ?
     
  11. Medion

    Medion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,855
    Likes Received:
    958
    Proven fake last night. It was a speculative list by someone. Also, as to questions about Rezound not being on the list, well, if it were a real list, HTC isn't going to list a phone that isn't officially announced yet.

    Also, the appearance of the N1 was a telltale sign of being fake even before Google shot it down. HTC manufactured the phone, but Google does the updates. It would be like Foxconn talking about the next iOS update just because they manufacture the iPhone. HTC sold it to Google and has nothing to do with their update process.

    HTC should announce their official list in the next month or two.
     
  12. blkbeltkid17

    blkbeltkid17 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,383
    Likes Received:
    690
    humm case in point in my current state i did not think full about that and i can see your point on not having a phone that is not realsed on the list
     
  13. vzwuser76

    vzwuser76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    298
    I think the telling factor for it not getting ICS is the RAM. Like you said the CPU is probably okay, but I think the combination of the Ram and the GPU is what eliminated it.

    As far as Google wanting the OMAP processor, HTC has had a pretty tight relationship with Qualcomm, so I'd think that was always the plan.
     
  14. blkbeltkid17

    blkbeltkid17 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,383
    Likes Received:
    690
    i dont think the brand of processor will effect HTC getting ICS
     
  15. Medion

    Medion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,855
    Likes Received:
    958
    I can counter both points. The Nexus 1 has 512MB of RAM, as does the Nexus S, which is confirmed as getting ICS. RAM isn't the issue.

    HTC's relationship with Qualcomm doesn't have an affect on which CPU is ultimately used because it's Google's call. Case in point, Galaxy Nexus using OMAP over Exynos (Samsung's baby). Snapdragon simply came to market roughly a full year before OMAP36xx, and the only issues with it were battery life and the GPU. Microsoft did well with it (basis for WP7 Chassis 1), but Google's new UI is doing a lot more than WP7's UI.
     
  16. TxGoat

    TxGoat Guest


    I'm running Gingerbread with Sense 3.5 and I'd say that Sense 3.5 isn't "super fantastic" if you're on the fence about wanting Sense 3.5 over ICS. I actually like Sense 3.0 a little more since the quick launch tasks in Sense 3.5, you can't move those tabs around so you're left with 5 quick launch tabs that take up all the screen instead of being able to add more tabs. It just seems like a waste of space on the main page. Of course I haven't had a lot of time to tweak it but I'd still rather have more access to configuring that page.
     
  17. Blackthanos

    Blackthanos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    67
    compchick813 likes this.
  18. TxGoat

    TxGoat Guest

  19. Blackthanos

    Blackthanos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    67
    LOL! Well sadly I don't seem to relish kicking over anthills as much as you but maybe you can enjoy it enough for both of us..lol. I basically felt like it would be something to give the people wondering about an ICS ROM for the Vigor in the next few months some hope.
     
  20. TxGoat

    TxGoat Guest


    I just get a kick out of what typically transpires.... "Help I loaded this rom and now my phone does _______!" "Did you read the install instructions?" "Yes I did! What do you think I'm an idiot?" "Well lets see, did you flash the rom with rom manager or did you do as was instructed with renaming files?" "You mean I can't use Rom manager? Where did it say that?" "Damn noobs!"

    I agree about it giving people some hope about ICS coming to HTC's high end phones, but considering how long it took us to get Gingerbread after all these roms were already released, I'm going to make my decision when all the phones are released. I saw the GN marketing release and I can honestly say that I didn't see anything that really wowed me.
     
  21. Blackthanos

    Blackthanos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    67
    Yeah me either. I mean I don't claim to be a phone guru, as a matter a fact it's the exact opposite but I have always had the capacity to learn quickly if it's something I'm really interested in. I had a friend that I used to go to for cellphone/smartphone advise and since I've been doing my research to get a new smartphone my friend has no idea what I'm talking about now...lol. I'll talk to him about the difference between SLCD and Super AMOLED and he'll say "What?" I still have a long way to go but I know the people here will be a big help.
     
  22. blkbeltkid17

    blkbeltkid17 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,383
    Likes Received:
    690
    talking about a ICS rom that is not a question it will happen and i know when CM9 comes out after the source code is released then just about every rooted device should be able to run ICS
     
  23. ISASoilder

    ISASoilder Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    26
    Has anyone tried the ICS Launcher?? Is it good enough to hold over untill the offical update?
     
  24. pragmatous

    pragmatous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    102
    HTC makes great phones with the exception of the thunderbolt. TB is their worst phone ever.

     
  25. TxGoat

    TxGoat Guest


    You probably mean worst android phone because I had a touch pro 2 and it was pretty bad as well, of course most Windows Mobile phones are.
     

Share This Page

Loading...