Ringing DelayGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. bsutton1

    bsutton1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    13
    Every time I get an incoming call, something weird happens. I see the number call up on my caller ID and then like 10 seconds later it rings. Has anybody else experienced this or is it just me? Is their any settings I can go to adjust ring time?
     

    Advertisement
  2. entelechy3

    entelechy3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try changing your slot cycle. I changed mine to 1, and it makes a big difference (with no affect on battery life that I can see, after about 2-3 weeks of use).

    This post (and quite a few others, if you just search this forum for "slot cycle") will explain how: http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/23773-issues-eris-phone.html#post285323

    Erm... on a totally unrelated note, is anybody else unable to use any of the tools above the compose window? Can't change text, can't hyperlink text... nothin!
     
  3. droid-dohrk

    droid-dohrk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/25119-amount-rings.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/37976-regarding-slot-cycle-setting-2-x-thread.html

    ----

    Change the ringer delay, how often the phone checks the tower.

    Slot cycle X wakes the device to check the paging channel every X.
    0 is 1.28s Caller hears 1 ring before phone rings once.
    1 is 2.56s Caller hears 1-2 rings before phone rings once.
    2 is 5.12s (DEFAULT) Caller hears 3 rings before phone rings once.

    Call: ##778
    password: 000000

    Use "edit mode"

    Modem Settings --> Slot Cycle

    When you change the setting, make sure you press the "menu" button and confirm m
    odifications or your change won't take.
     
    natsu likes this.
  4. bsutton1

    bsutton1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    13
    Thanks. I change my slot cycle to 0. We'll see how it goes.

     
  5. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    111
    This is why I love this site. Never did I think there was an option to change this or this was even an issue. Thanks guys! Changed mine to 0 as well as I hated to see my screen light up and no sound or straight to voicemail because I wasnt fast enough to answer the phone after 3 rings on my end.
     
  6. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    63
    I don't think this has anything to do with the slot cycle. The slot cycle affects how often the phone checks the towers to see if there is an incoming call. Read the OP again. He said the name shows up on the screen (which means the phone has recognized the call, and you can still answer it), but it just doesn't make the ringing sound until a few seconds later. I've noticed this on my phone too, as well as with text messages. When I get a text, it vibrates twice, then plays the text sound. Sometimes it will just vibrate twice, and there is a very long delay before it plays the sound. Then, sometimes it doesn't even play the sound at all.

    I'd be interested in a solution to this. Subscribed :D
     
  7. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    111
    I guess I read it wrong too. I have the same issue. I see the call coming in, just no sound for a few secs or so. Damn! Thought this fixed it. So what does changing the slot cycle really do then? Like described to a 5yr old. lol
     
  8. mersh21

    mersh21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same issue when i got my eris last week and the slot cycle change totally helped.
     
  9. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    63
    The slot cycle affects how often the phone "listens" to the cell tower, to check and see if it is receiving any incoming calls or texts. The default setting is 2 (I think every 5 seconds?), some people change to 1 (a little more often), and some to 0 (a lot more often). It is discussed in more detail in another thread, with better info, but that's the general gist of it.

    So with the default setting of 2, for example... if someone happens to call you immediately after your phone has finished checking for new calls, it won't check again for another 5 seconds. So the person who is calling you might actually hear 2-3 rings (5 seconds worth of waiting) before your phone actually starts ringing.

    Hope that made sense... Again, sorry I don't know the exact numbers without searching (I think it was like 1.8 seconds per increment or something? Don't remember).

    So basicaly, lowering your "slot cycle" number decreases the number of seconds your phone waits between each time it "listens" for incoming calls.

    ...or something... :D
     
  10. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    111
    OK, I get it. So this fixes one issue I was having. But this wont fix the issue of why I see the incoming call, but no sound for a few seconds. Thanks a lot.
     
  11. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    Well said ddustin

    I think most Erii do this, many smart phones there is a delay from recieving call > showing on screen > to ring.

    more then likely just a software thing, might get better with 2.x upgrade.
     
  12. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    63
    Glad I could help! :D

    This drives me crazy too though... It's fine if my phone is sitting next to me, because I see the screen come on out of the corner of my eye. But if it's in another room or something, I often miss calls because I don't get to it in time... It just doesn't ring long enough sometimes. I haven't changed my slot cycle yet, but I do have to assume that this would slightly help the problem, but still not fix the sound delay issue...
     
  13. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117
    Each slot cycle down is 1/2 of the previous.

    5.12 > 2.56 > 1.28 > .64 etc
     
  14. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    63
    Thanks for that. Does that mean you can do -1? Or which one does it start at? I thought 5.12 was for the "2" setting. If not, which one does it actually start at?

    Thanks
     
  15. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    it starts at 2 i hear, and you can go down to 0 i think. mine is on 0, works fine.
     
  16. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    111
    Now that you mention this, I believe me BB Tour did the same thing.
     
  17. skybax22

    skybax22 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    This happens to me with texts. It will vibrate, the ball will light up, but sometimes it will wait 5-10 seconds to sound the alert.
     
  18. bknewtype

    bknewtype Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    40
    bumping an old thread sorry. but i think im missing something here. in order to change it, i have to dial ##778 or ##778# whatever? when i do that, it gives me an error and telling me to call verizon troubleshooting. im sure im missing an important step so can someone explain to me exactly where do i go to change the setting? thanks in advance.
     
  19. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Try taking the steps slowly so that accuracy is not compromised:

    - go to "phone" and enter ##778

    - press the green "call" button

    - select "edit mode"

    - enter six zeros as the password

    - press "modem settings"

    - press "slot cycle index"

    - make your selection

    - press menu to confirm

    The device will reboot.
     
  20. bknewtype

    bknewtype Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    40
    after i call, how do i get into edit mode? after calling ##778 its bringing me to a automated voice system from verizon telling me to check my number and call again.
     
  21. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    After pressing ##778 and pressing the green "call" button, and after a few seconds of "processing, please wait," a small applet appears with two choices, "view mode" and "edit mode."

    I cannot duplicate your experience; it never actually makes a telephone call.

    Are you using the stock dialer, or a 3rd party app to dial with?
     
  22. bknewtype

    bknewtype Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    40
    i am using a stock dialar i beleive, but am on froyo 2.2 BB rom.
     
  23. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Oh.. I sure wish I had some experience or knowledge about that ROM, but I don't, bknewtype.

    I'm guessing that the ROM itself is disallowing that method of entry into that particular menu.

    If I was running a ROM with that result, I'd contact the developer and tell him or her about what's been happening. Perhaps it's a fixable issue.. maybe even with a different method or a zip file to flash to the ROM.
     
  24. bknewtype

    bknewtype Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    40
    thanks, ill do just that.
     
  25. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    I hope the dev can help.

    Incidentally, I just spotted this in another thread:

    "For Sprint ported roms, an extra # is needed after ##778."

    Have you attempted the process starting with ##778# instead of ##778?
     

Share This Page

Loading...