Ringtone keeps changing..Support


Last Updated:

  1. GodCountryND

    GodCountryND Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hey guys and gals, I have something strange happening on my Moment. I have a ringtone that I put on my SD card and I can set it and it works fine. However, the phone keeps switching from it to one of the preloaded ringtones. This just happens during the day (not after reboot or anything). I have also set custom notifications for my email and text messages and they work fine without changing. Has anyone else seen or heard of this and more importantly does anyone know how I can keep this from happening?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. kzoo

    kzoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    8
    Mine does when I have it hooked to the computer and using the sd card
     
  3. GodCountryND

    GodCountryND Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hmm...maybe that is the key. I will keep an eye on it when I connect to my pc. Thanks!
     
  4. AlkiDweller

    AlkiDweller Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    96
    I'm pretty sure that when your phone is hooked to a PC (and the card is mounted on the phone) the card isn't accessible by the phone.
     
  5. toddtyree

    toddtyree New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had my Moment for a month now...I still have not been able to set a downloaded ringtone as my sms ringtone. Can someone help me with that?
     
  6. GodCountryND

    GodCountryND Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    5
    Update: It changes whether it is connected to a pc or not. REALLY annoying.
     
  7. chibucks

    chibucks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    48
    do you have it set as your default ringtone?

    do you have access to /system/media/audio/ringtones? if so, i'd just dump your ringtone in there and choose it as default (that way if your sdcard is inaccessible, then you're still ok).
     
  8. latinmaxima

    latinmaxima Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    111
    What I have noticed is every time I connect to the PC I have this issue. It has something to do with the sd card mounting to the computer and then remounting to phone. I find unfortunately the only time I dont have the issue is turning the phone off and putting the sd card into a reader. I dont have many custom tones though so I just reset them each time i connect to the computer. It depends what you feel is more convenient for you. I used ringdroid by the way.
     
  9. GodCountryND

    GodCountryND Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    5
    This is really pissing me off. It changes several times a day even if I dont ever connect to my pc. How can I stop this?? And no I dont have access to the internal memory to save them there...
     
  10. heathershipp

    heathershipp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had this issue... I fixed it by making sure the ringtone has a NAME... My husbands ringtone was labeled "unknown" and so when he called it would play the default one and not the one I assigned to him. Then I found the right ringtone and put it as his and it hasn't given me a issue ever since.
     
  11. GodCountryND

    GodCountryND Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    5
    The ringtone has a name. It has changed 3 times just this morning.
     
  12. GodCountryND

    GodCountryND Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    5
    This is driving me insane.
     
  13. radvans

    radvans New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine did it this morning for the first time in 6 months.

    I pulled the battery and let is sit for 5 minutes. Haven't had an issue since.
     

Share This Page

Loading...