ringtone won't stay setSupport

Last Updated:

1. animejoe69

animejoe69 Well-Known Member

has anyone else had a problem with setting a costom ringtone as the main tone. every time i power off and power on the ringtone reverts to "curve ball blend". this is my first android phone but i never had any older phones do anything like this.

2. animejoe69

also haveing trouble with the proximity senser when i hold phone to my ear for a call the screen goes off like it's supposed to but when i bring it down to end the call the screen doesn't want to light back up. sometimes i have to shut off the phone and restart it. any ideas please this is really bugging me cause everything else works fine
  3. Wiesshund

Wiesshund Well-Known Member

SD card not.mounted at boot. Hence default ringtone. Move to system storage to have it keep.tone at reboot
  4. animejoe69

ok how do i do that without being rooted.i'm new to android phones as this is my first one and am thinking of trying the root program anniedroid posted but am a little worryed i'll screw the phone and i am unable to buy another
  5. Wiesshund

Wiesshund Well-Known Member

you need to be rooted to see the non SD card part of memory, but if you dont go hacking the system files you should not break anything
    then after it is rooted, simply take a file manager (from google market on phone) and move your ring tone in to /system/media/audio/ringtones

then it will be able to load it at boot.
    This is non destructive to the phone, you aren't changing any anything system related.
    Your ringtone can be mp3 or oog format
  6. animejoe69

witch file manager do you recomend?
    i have es file explorer but i can't see any system files with it

never mind, i just found one that works. thanks for the file path tho put the ringtone in. i did have to change the mp3 to ogg though.
  7. C3Pdr0id

C3Pdr0id Well-Known Member

YES & it's driving me Nuts :confused: