"roam-only" capabilitySupport

Last Updated:

1. ibchilling

ibchilling New Member This Topic's Starter

Before the Hero I owned the Pre. The Pre has a hack where you can force the phone to roam. (My understanding is that most phones come with this functionality, but sprint disables it). It was really nice for places where the Sprint signal was just strong enough to keep the phone from roaming onto Verizon's network, but not strong enough to be useful. Now that the Hero has been rooted, does any one have any ideas on how such a program might be written, and an interest in writing one? I have zero programming experience, and would have no idea how to start. It's an amazingly useful feature to have.
    Thanks

Advertisement
  2. Spunkzz

Spunkzz Member

I'm also very interested in a roam only option I hope someone can figure it out.

3. Quicksand Jesus

Quicksand Jesus Member

Bump for the same. I just replace my Treo 800w which had a roaming only mode. And it had a roaming only mode without any "hacks" or "tweaks".

4. tatonka_Hero

tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

not a bad idea...and it would be REALLY nice for me, where Verizon's signal comes through the hills around my house better than Sprint's does (from the same tower, oddly enough).

5. badkulo

badkulo New Member

I would love to have this feature as well!

6. ned23

ned23 Well-Known Member

I am also looking for this option for Moment M900. Will pay for such an app, $20 or so, if necessary.

7. MrGreg

MrGreg Well-Known Member

Bump. Anyone hear about any progress being made towards a roam-only option? I want to get a Hero, but I can't get a Sprint signal in my office. I may have to go with the Pre...

8. berrabus

berrabus New Member