Roaming - Europe, a quick questionSupport


Last Updated:

  1. kelcoshows

    kelcoshows Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey i will be taking my UK Desire thats on the T-Mobile network to Greece soon. Roaming is turned off, but if I want to, say check gmail, can I just do a refresh in the gmail app and just that application then accesses data so roaming can stay turned off?

    Thanks
    Dave
     

    Advertisement
  2. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Roaming means connecting to a different network provider when the provider you have your contract with is out of range. So the only way to connect to the internet abroad is via roaming (as t-mob don't extend there :p ). So you will need to roam, check how much it will cost you though if you decide to.

    I'm going to Italy in a few weeks and hoping I can just nab free WiFi hotspots and do mass updates!
     
    kelcoshows likes this.
  3. weirdNumber

    weirdNumber Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    16
    T-Mobile offer a few data bundles for use when roaming in the EU. Without them you will be charged
     
  4. kelcoshows

    kelcoshows Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    @lekky I guess what i'm trying to avoid is roaming and the desire connecting and doing data stuff behind the scenes all the time (expensive). So looking at the options in mobile network settings...if I leave roaming on and turn off enable always on mobile data, that gives me the power to select what app connects when i want it too?

    @weirdnumber I've seen on T-Mobiles website that data costs
     
  5. gooner

    gooner Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    I went to Poland some time ago and received a text from t-mobile about their bundles. As far as i remember it was
     
    kelcoshows likes this.
  6. mattbeef

    mattbeef Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Quick silly question but is there is Data Roaming toggle option like there is on the Desire or is it a case of turning off mobile network option?
     
  7. gooner

    gooner Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    you can switch off mobile network and this will turn roaming off or when mobile network is on you can turn roaming off.
    Settings > Networks >mobile network / settings
     
  8. quibble

    quibble Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    When turned off, you will still get an 'R' against your network strength indicator (to show you are on a roaming netwrok) but no data (foreground or background) will get used.

    In order to sync things, either enable roaming (and incur the data costs) or find a wifi hot-spot for (potentially) free updating. Since having the desire I've tried this in France, Italy and Ireland and it works just fine.
     
    kelcoshows likes this.
  9. weirdNumber

    weirdNumber Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    16
     
    kelcoshows likes this.
  10. kelcoshows

    kelcoshows Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    So for those who have used the desire abroad and used roaming, if you turn off enable always-on mobile but have left roaming enabled, this should stop all the background updating? And if I went into facebook etc and chose to sync it would do that and I would incur any charges for that paricular app's access to the data network? Think thats sounds like what should happen...

    wish you could sign up for a data deal with T-mobile before you left just to make sure you are covered!
     
  11. Guru Wigi

    Guru Wigi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    What about new Roaming Europe services that dont use dongles but use Mi-Fi's?
    These are easier to use and you dont have to muck-around with a dongle hanging out of your laptop, carry it around in your pocket and you can have up to 5 devices connected to the same SIM.
    Check it out for yourself if you want www.roamingeurope.com
    [​IMG]
     
  12. pspbricker

    pspbricker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    4
    Go and visit the local McD. Free wifi.
     

Share This Page

Loading...