Roaming issues... Data roaming is free right?


Last Updated:

  1. Roadblock

    Roadblock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    27
    I've noticed that most of this week my phone keeps roaming.

    Not sure why, guess I don't really care because it works but I noticed this on my online Sprint account.


    Sprint Data Roaming [​IMG] Want to reduce your additional charges? See how to adjust your plan.

    Used

    8,799KB/ 0 KB Included
    Remaining


    0KB
    Additional used8,799KBAdditional charge$0. 00I see it's at $0.00 so I assume I'm ok, I'm not going to get hit with some big ass charge though am I? The shits roaming where it normally doesn't roam.

    The data roamings been free since like 2006 right?
     

    Advertisement
  2. teky

    teky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    120
    Roaming is dangerous...I would not assume it's free. If I'm wrong...cool beans. If not, then you are our guinea pig. Just let us know how it works out.
     
  3. 0837s

    0837s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    7
    I would not assume that data roaming is free.

    For example, if I am ROAMING and I call another cell phone from my Evo, those minutes come out of my anytime minutes, and I am charged for them. So, with that said, I would definitely bet that when you are data roaming, that there will be a charge.

    Sprint isn't really as good as the front they put up for everyone to see. Once you read all of the fine print, you figure out that they have cheap plans, and have cheap plans because they nickle and dime you to death on other things that other carriers include in those plans, so its probably all a wash in the end.

    And if you call Sprint to ask, you might want to ask 8-10 of their reps, because none of them are very well educated on the products that they sell. At first, I asked 2 reps how the anytime minutes worked when my phone was roaming- one told me that there was no charge. The other told me that the minutes came out of the anytime minutes, so I asked a bunch of others, when calling Sprint, to try and get my phone problems fixed. Of the 8 total people I asked, I got 4 different answers. Its crazy.
     
  4. epphllps

    epphllps Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    5
    I do not believe there is a charge, as per my friend who worked for Sprint in Colorado. He moved here, Tennessee, and lives in an area with NO sprint coverage and has been roaming like crazy. He said they won't charge for roaming, but have sent him "the letter" of termination. He has gone over the 300 MB data roaming limit for 3 straight months and they are terminating his contract. That is your risk of data roaming. Not charges, but losing your contract entirely.
     
  5. Kelita

    Kelita Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    55
    Just want to bump this up because I actually incurred 50kb of data roaming for the first time last night. I have no idea why and had no idea it was roaming (no indication, etc). I did make a phone call when I noticed the roaming triangle but that wouldn't use data. My account online shows the same thing as the OP but I want to make sure he wasn't charged.
     
  6. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    33
    I need to clarify this thread. For almost ALL modern plans, both data AND voice roaming is free, up until a soft limit.

    Data roaming is free, up until you hit ~300MB in a single month. If you are under this, don't worry. If you are over this, Sprint may kick you to the curb.

    Voice roaming is also free. Free means that it does not cost you any extra. You voice minutes are still used. However, M2M and other special calling perks do not apply. You must use less than 50% of your minutes in a couple of months in a row to be OK.

    In summary, don't worry about roaming. It's "free".
     
    Brent Pierce and Kelita like this.
  7. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,602
    Likes Received:
    3,221
    roaming is free to users....

    not free to the service provider....

    so.. if you roam to much.. and cost them too much...
    they have the right to terminate your contract.

    question is... will you be charged an early termination fee? :confused:
     
  8. Scooterman1

    Scooterman1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    9
    DATA ROAMING IS NOT EXACTLY FREE ON THE 'EVERYTHING' PLANS.

    Although Data may be unlimited on the Sprint Network, it has a 300 MB cap on roaming data. At least on the Everything Data Family - with Any Mobile, Anytime.

    I couldn't find this written anywhere, but this was told me my one of their Customer Service Reps. On a later conversation, when they started telling me what my account covered, after another conversation, I asked about the 300 MB cap, she didn't know, checked with her supervisor, and came back on and said YES, it has a 300 MB cap on roaming Data.
     
  9. BenChase7

    BenChase7 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,233
    Likes Received:
    876
    I wouldnt worry too much about it, unless you are roaming more than you are using the Sprint network. I've been with Sprint 10yrs and cannot remember the last time I was charged for roaming.
     
  10. philly0128

    philly0128 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    3
    data roaming is NOT free, my coworker went to canada and her phone said data roaming and she assumed b/c she had unlimited it was fine until her $180 bill turned into $430
     
  11. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    33
    Who said anything about INTERNATIONAL data roaming?
    Data roaming INTERNATIONALLY is NOT free (however, SMS is free in Canada)
     
  12. Myst3ry

    Myst3ry Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope you won't... this is one of those tricks people use to get out of a contract early and without having to pay. So unless you want to end your contract, then there really IS nothing to worry about ;)
     
  13. philly0128

    philly0128 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    3
    I said that just because alot of people who live close or commute back and forth who has no idea thinking unlimited is exactly that unlimited, but everything unlimited has it's limits and people don't look into that. I also posted this b/c data roaming is data roaming period. per verizon and sprint, if you're outside your network there will be a fee...
     
  14. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    33
    I'm making a point. Your post made a blanket statement that read "data roaming is NOT free" which is not correct. There is a difference between data roaming, and international data roaming. Any modern phone, while in another country, will display "INTERNATIONAL." Why anyone would think service in another country is beyond me.
     
    Agent Jones and BenChase7 like this.
  15. Scooterman1

    Scooterman1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    9
  16. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    33
    Not only did I say that there is a limit: "Data roaming is free, up until you hit ~300MB in a single month. If you are under this, don't worry. If you are over this, Sprint may kick you to the curb."

    but you WON'T be charged if you go above 300MB roaming in a month. Sprint may elect to cut off your service, but they will NOT charge you.

    Did you even read the link you posted?
     
  17. BigHAZE

    BigHAZE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    55
    If we get CHARGED for roaming..then how exactly is it OUR FAULT that they don't have proper coverage. I spend $130 a month for a SINGLE LINE PLAN...when I was in DisneyWorld, I saw that little triangle plenty of times. How is that MY FAULT? ;)
     
  18. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    33
    lol. well the good thing is that you arent charged for roaming.
     
  19. 81_

    81_ Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    39

    she didn't read. it costs big bucks to use the phone internatinally. some countries it costs close to $5 per minute to use phone. in all countries it costs 50 cents to send a text and 15 to recieve. data rates are typically .04 per kb

    check sprint.com
     
  20. rican408

    rican408 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    People are doing the permanent Verizon roaming hack. I'm sure there is no roaming charge at all...
     
  21. Scooterman1

    Scooterman1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yes, and I read it again. Sorry, I did misread your quote..... However, It doesn't say they will kick you to the curb, it doesn't say ~300MB, it doesn't say Sprint may elect, ..... it does say:
    "If you reach your limit, we'll suspend your nationwide roaming data service or international roaming data service." And I'm not trying to nitpick your post, just trying to post with accuracy... my earlier post wasn't, as you so graciously pointed out. Thanks.

    And Customer service will tell you that your nationwide data is Unlimited, along with the info where you select your plan, but notice the 5GB in that link above. Now, in the end, which will be correct?
     
  22. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    33
    I think you mean 5GB. "Unlimited" means within reason. I don't like it, but that's what it means.
     
  23. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    5 GB, not 5 MB, btw.
     
  24. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    The US/DisneyWorld Bilateral Disarmament Treaty of 1999 does have a clause that includes Mickey Land now being recognized as a part of the US for cell carrier billing purposes.

    I think you're going to be ok.

    I think you're only charged for roaming if and only if your data use exceeds a very large number of bytes.
     
    BigHAZE likes this.
  25. Howie

    Howie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    71
    Not completely accurate. There will be a fee if you are outside your network on an old plan that didn't include roaming or you are roaming internationally -- any country. If you are roaming in the US on the newer plans there will not be a fee unless you have overage charges (for example: M2M minutes do not apply, so they deduct from your 450 minutes. If you do a bunch of those and go over 450 you will have a fee). I haven't read anything official about fees for data roaming in the US (on the newer plans). But the 300mb is a soft limit.

    Was that a higher than normal bill? Just trying to understand
     

Share This Page

Loading...