Rogers Sense ui root or wait for Rogers to push it down?


Last Updated:

  1. TriC

    TriC Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    2
    HTC sense ui is going to be available sometime in the fall if not sooner for the Rogers Magic (Called Rogers). So my question is should I root my phone to upgrade to the Sense ui rom that people are already using or wait for Rogers to push it down? also if I do change the rom on my phone can I go back to my original rom.
     

    Advertisement
  2. XxXSnake23XxX

    XxXSnake23XxX Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    well if you can wait then wait... but its not 100% sure that rogers will even push the sense ui
     
  3. UnderWhat?

    UnderWhat? Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    34
    Why not man, if you don't want sense ui don't get it, if you want it go ahead and get it now
     
  4. moon_walker333

    moon_walker333 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's a valid question from TriC, because the HTC Sense UI Upgrade published by HTC/Rogers would be clean and clear of bugs/limitations.

    Does any one know of bugs/limitations of the custom Sense UI ROMs for Magic ? (which you install by rooting the phone)

    Thanks in advance.
     
  5. mbk.2k3

    mbk.2k3 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    id be interested in this as well...

    BUT, don't expect anythign from rogers. follow the other thread in the Rogers forum. doubt they are going to be doing any updating.

    most likely need to root and upgrade, and use a different ROM.

    this is what im looking into as well, and brand new htc magic user too, so im reading around these forums to see the best way to go about this (even if its possible).
     
  6. samuelmaskell

    samuelmaskell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'd say do it
    rogers probably won't ever release the sense ui
    it's rogers..
    and anyway, the custom roms are probably better
    I've been using the myhero v. 2.0.5 for months now and it's perfect
    I haven't had a single problem with it and it's really fast
    better than a stock rom cause it's normal-clocked or whatever you call it
    as well as a few other optimizations
    not to mention the other benefits of root(paid apps, tether, swap, etc)
     
  7. mbk.2k3

    mbk.2k3 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    +1

    just got the same ROM, and i must say, i am AMAZED. the only confusion i had was configuring rogers APN settings once i had everything installed.
     
  8. linnstar

    linnstar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another ?. I purchased a Roger's unlocked magic from solutions on the go. I'm currently on what's left of the cellular one network post AT&T buyout. is there anyway to update the rom? via root or whatever since Roger's have no current plans to do this? Any help greatley appreciated. It's bad when you spend $500. on a phone & a update may never be available
     

Share This Page

Loading...