[ROM] Android 2.2 FroYo - Brought to you by MDW (OC & Flash 10.1!)


Last Updated:

  1. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    So it is finally here, available in Clockwork and SPRecovery nandroids. Get them from this link:

    Download Froyo (2.2) for Your Motorola Droid ! ! !

    Note: This ROM is rooted. Wifi is broken (fixed with new kernels)

    Also, if you have no 3G initially, do a reboot :)

    Enjoy!

    UPDATE

    Get the new Froyo baseband here:

    Holy Cow, Another MyDroidRelease - Updated Radio File

    Get the Flash 10.1 Beta .apk here:

    Now that you have FROYO, How About Flash

    Overclock kernels can be found here (they fix the wifi bug as well!)

    Froyo Overclocked Kernels includes *wifi* fix

    Installation Instructions

    -For SP Recovery
    1. Download the SP Recovery nandroid file and update.zip
    2. Unzip the folder into your sdcard/nandroid/ folder, put update.zip on root of sdcard
    3. Reboot into recovery (hold x down while you power up your phone)
    4. Choose Backup/Restore, then Advanced Restore
    5. Select the folder, restore it
    6. Back out to main menu, scroll down to install .zip, allow it, install update.zip
    7. Reboot into delicious Froyo

    -For Clockwork Recovery
    1. Download Clockwork Recovery nandroid file
    2. Unzip the folder into sdcard/clockworkmod/backup
    3. Reboot into recovery (using ROM manager, or hold down x while powering up)
    4. Nandroid, Restore, select the folder
    5. Restore it
    6. Reboot into delicious Froyo

    -Installing overclock kernels/wifi fix
    1. Download the desired kernel onto /sdcard
    2. If using SP Recovery, rename to update.zip
    3. Install from recovery (or ROM manager if using Clockwork)


    Download Links - Nandroids for Clockwork/SP Recoveries

    P3DF-CW.zip

    P3DF-SPR.zip

    NOTE: If you installed with SP Recovery, you will need to run this update.zip to regain root.

    update.zip

    -Flash 10.1 APK

    Adobe Flash Player 10.1_10.1.61.68.apk

    Overclock Kernels (fixes wifi too) - Thanks dodger55fan!

    0.8(s)-v32kernel.zip

    0.9-v32kernel.zip

    1.0-v32kernel.zip

    1.1-v32kernel.zip - This is actually 1.2GHz

    1.25-v32kernel.zip - This is actually 1.1GHz

    If you can't boot into Clockwork recovery after flashing this ROM, flash SP Recovery with ROM manager (alternate recovery option at the bottom), reboot, then flash Clockwork back and it should be good. You can reboot into recovery to verify it worked. Don't ask why this works!

    Instructions on how to get Hulu to work - Thanks Ryjabo!

    You must repeat this every time you open the browser, or else you will get a proxy error

    -'Quadrant' benchmark app on Froyo @ 1.1GHz

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rodeojones

    Rodeojones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    47
    Fab...what are your impressions so far? And, I'm sure everyone will be wondering this, does it have Flash?
     
  3. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Market is very slow right now, but you can bet that Flash'll be the first thing I download :)
     
  4. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    Ok,. I am waiting for the flood of "Do I have to wipe anything" questions. Yes! Wipe data, system, cache and boot! (I'm just being proactive).
     
  5. tfleming23

    tfleming23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    9
    This warms the cockles of my heart on a Saturday morning...yes, I just wanted to say cockles.


    gettting ready to install it now.
     
  6. Trident

    Trident VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,034
    Likes Received:
    2,307
    Running Titanium as we speak, gonna run a Nandroid, and then I"m gonna restore this bad boy! :)
     
  7. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118
    Getting ready to flash. Haven't gone to the other thread yet, but are there overclocking kernels compatible?
     
  8. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    As the warning on Mydroidworld stated, No WIFI dammit! Just getting an error message (even after rebooting). For me right now this is a dealbreaker. I'm sure it will be worked out soon. The launcher looks like ADW but does not have the hidden app dock. I will try the ADW and see how it runs.
     
  9. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Couldn't find flash in the market, or by following the link on Adobe's page. The market is literally taking me like a minute to find and install a single app. :(
     
  10. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118
    Alright, it's not sounding all that great at this point. I think I'll hold off for now. :eek:
     
  11. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    Interesting (but useless) Market widget. The official Twitter app comes pre-installed. There is also a silly Home Screen Tips widget (yawn). More news to follow...
     
  12. Rodeojones

    Rodeojones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    47
    No wifi means it's a total deal-breaker for me. I live in the middle of nowhere in Wisconsin and have very little to no 3G when I'm at home. I NEED wifi to do anything on my phone. It's nice that we have this, but I'm going to wait until this issue is resolved before I try it.
     
  13. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Mmmm....FroYo and LauncherPro are a match made in heaven. :D
     
  14. Icedemon

    Icedemon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    2
    P3 changed the kernel to protect the original source. I don't know what that even means but it breaks wifi. So far I've been doing really well with 3G in my area without wifi. That's only because I downgraded my baseband. I wonder if I install this will I have to downgrade again?
     
  15. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Anyone tried changing the kernel yet, to Bekit, P3Droid, or jdlfg (or whatever combination of letters the cool newby guy uses :) ) ?
     
  16. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    3G is working fine for me with the downgraded baseband. Actually, I seem to be getting a little better signal than with 2.1 (I don't think installing this touches whatever baseband is already installed but I am only assuming).
     
  17. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118
    Alright, screw it, loading up now.
     
  18. Icedemon

    Icedemon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    2
    Good to know. I wonder if this will be put in Rom Manager?
     
  19. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    This doesn't touch the baseband at all. It will remain the same.

    I'm off to the state park, see you guys in the evening. Hopefully a lot of new discoveries by then!!
     
  20. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118
    Luckily you'll not be tempted to keep tabs on this thread due to no coverage in the caves :D Have fun!
     
  21. sing1gnis

    sing1gnis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    3
    I tried P3's 1250 kernel and it booted, but then it immediately shut down.
     
  22. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    Hope the cave doesn't rely on WIFI. You will be out of luck...
     
  23. zachplaysguitar

    zachplaysguitar Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seemed to be laggier than BB V1.1 with only an 800MHz kernel. Can we install our own kernels or will we lose features of the new kernel?
     
  24. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    So far all reports (at least what I have seen) show that the other Kernels are not working.
     
  25. zachplaysguitar

    zachplaysguitar Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Darn. I think I'll stick with BB for a bit until someone makes a custom ROM from 2.2. Come on Pete!
     

Share This Page

Loading...