[ROM][BARN] Frost ROM v3.1 [10/31/10][AOSPapps][FPS][A2SD][NEWLOOK][MORE!] "refresh"


Last Updated:

  1. barnacles

    barnacles Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    32
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    BrieflyGeek is proud to release Frost ROM 3.1. Frost ROM is a HTC sense ROM built off of the newest OTA. This is a sense rom custom themed with aosp elements and apps. This means HDMI, 4G and FM radio will be fully functional. No, this ROM does not include the sense launcher, or widgets, and never will. The goal of this project is to get us as close to stock android as possible while still being functional and staying on a sense framework. This ROM improves the functionality of your phone, while removing bloat and increasing speed. I have started a new thread to reduce clutter as well as starting over with a new approach in terms of Frosts looks. Enjoy!

    Code (Text):
    1. #include <std_disclaimer.h>
    2. /*
    3.  * Your warranty is now void.
    4.  *
    5.  *I am not responsible for anything that may happen as result
    6.  * of using any of my ROMs. By flashing them, you take full
    7.  * responsibility. That said, I extensively test everything before
    8.  * releasing it. Thank you.
    9.  */
    10.  
    Check post 2 for a changelog and 3 for add-ons and a Q&A to see if your questions have been answered. Screenshots are available below download link.

    *read: This rom uses the collin_ph battery mod. Because of this, we are able to achieve superior battery life. SetCPU does not play nice with this tweak, and if you use it, you might notice performance issues/faster than normal battery drain. Please refrain from using SetCPU with the stock setup.
    For news on Frost ROM, follow me on twitter @barnacles_

    Download v3.2 here: Frost ROM v3.2
    Screenshots: here
    Submit bugs: Bug Tracker for Frost ROM

    Thanks to: DannyDi, Toast, caulkin, myn, vealtek, manup, tuna, echo, htc, sprint, and google for making this all possible
     

    Advertisement
    GrandMasterBirt likes this.
  2. barnacles

    barnacles Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    32
  3. barnacles

    barnacles Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    32
    and just one more
     
  4. bvbull200

    bvbull200 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    197
    What does AOSP mean? I keep seeing it but I don't know what it stands for.

    I might give this ROM a try. Myn's is still my favorite, but I'm open to trying other things. I'm not sure I will love the lack of Sense widgets, but who knows.
     
  5. barnacles

    barnacles Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    32
    AOSP is stock android. This ROM is bare bones android (well about as bare bones as it can get without going AOSP) including all the stock android apps possible aside from the calendar which wouldn't sync nicely with sense sync. By removing all the sense stuff, you will be able to tell a difference in speed and fluidness.
     
  6. bvbull200

    bvbull200 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    197
    Cool. I'm downloading it now and will give it a try.

    Just because I am curious. Your signature shows you are using Fresh 3.0. Is there a reason you aren't using this ROM?
     
  7. barnacles

    barnacles Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    32
    Haha, it also says fresh 3.0 :/

    I haven't been to the android forums in a while. Time to update my signature :D

    I'm upping AOSP and sense themes for Frost right now, should any of you want a different look. :D
     
  8. barnacles

    barnacles Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    32
    Themes up. Post 2.
     
  9. luxetical

    luxetical Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    7
    Totally gonna give this one a try :)

    p.s.
    Your post for the AOSP Theme link isn't working.
     
  10. bvbull200

    bvbull200 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    197
    Neat. It is certainly fast, but it isn't for me. I have become very spoiled with Sense widgets and can't get used to not having them. The real kicker, though, was that I couldn't set up my Yahoo! mail account with that e-mail application. It kept falsely saying that my username or password was incorrect and wouldn't let me manually set it up. Oh well. GMail worked fine, but that wasn't enough for me. It is probably user error, but I couldn't get over not having Sense long enough to try to figure it.

    Nice ROM, though, very snappy and it looks VERY clean.
     
  11. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513
    aosp theme not working, please post again
     
  12. barnacles

    barnacles Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    32
    fixed link. thanks
     
    wake69 likes this.
  13. GrandMasterBirt

    GrandMasterBirt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    2
    Is a wipe required? Or can this be flashed over something like Fresh?
     
  14. barnacles

    barnacles Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    32
    I would probably wipe, but you can certainly try. If you're on the newest fresh with the newest base, it *might* work, but I always recommend a wipe specially when switching builds.

    I know for a fact flipz and I both use modified ramdisks, so I don't know if clearing a cache would be good enough.

    I recommend nandroiding, trying it out if you'd like, and if you have problems you can always nandroid back, backup everything, and wipe and flash.
     
  15. luxetical

    luxetical Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'm enjoying this ROM so far.
    Any kernel suggestions?
     
  16. Johannesaurus

    Johannesaurus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, thank God! I've been looking for a ROM <i>precisely</i> like this for hours. I recently upgraded to an EVO when my accursed Samsung Moment bricked, and I was dismayed at the ridiculous amount of bloatware on the phone. There was only so much I could do to clean it up with root access--the Sense UI alone has more .apks from widgets and whatever else than my Moment ever had in its entire /system directory--and all of the HTC interfaces are so focused on being pretty that they throw functionality (not to mention performance) out the window.

    Anyway, after digging through the XDA forums (and a few others) I was disappointed by the apparent lack (or, at least, accessibility) of stable, functional ROMs and kernels being offered. I miss the SDX forums. I'd almost given up when I came across this ROM, which seems to be exactly what I'm looking for. I'll be flashing it to my phone first thing tomorrow morning. If it's even half as good as it looks I'm sure I'll be happy with it.
     
  17. flukeSG2

    flukeSG2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    8
    I see that you didn't actually get a straight answer to what AOSP mean, it stands for Android Open Source Project.
     
  18. barnacles

    barnacles Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    32
    update
     
  19. JackT

    JackT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    7
    Is the in-call screen AOSP or Sense? I like to have the dialer available along with the the mute button when in a call. I checked the screenshots and saw the dialer screen, but not the in-call screen. Thanks.

    Nevermind - I saw the FAQ over at XDA and it says it still has Sense for in-call screen.
     

Share This Page

Loading...