Rom Based off of the Official 2.1 OTA/Fix For Facebook Contact Sync


Last Updated:

  1. W4LLY

    W4LLY Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    36
    Hey guys, I'm sure this is annoying by now, but I have been playing with different ROMs, and no matter what I do, the ONLY problem I ever have is not being able to get my Facebook Contacts to Sync. I can't call HTC about it because it's rooted. I don't know if I'm the only one on a rooted phone that can't get HTC Facebook to work properly, but I'm not sure who to talk to. I figured if I was at least running a rooted version of the 2.1 OTA, i'd be able to ask HTC for help.

    This is the only gripe I have with my phone, and i'd really like SOMETHING to fix it. I don't care what ROM, i'd just like to be able to sync my contact pictures like I do oh so very easily in 1.5.
     

    Advertisement
  2. rvpartsguy

    rvpartsguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    25
    I can honestly say that I do not have this problem , and I can honestly say I have tried every custom rom out there ....
     
  3. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    agreed
     
  4. char561

    char561 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    12
    I have not had the problem either.
     
  5. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    this is a problem Wally's been having for a while now. I think your phone is trying to tell you to trim your FB friends man. Thats the only constant I see in the equation. The devs will have a ROM out soon for the Official "Official" OTA
     
  6. W4LLY

    W4LLY Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    36
    That doesn't make sense though. On 1.5, it works fine. I also got them to swap my phone, so this is a brand new refurb. I seriously want HTC to tell me why only my phone has this problem, apparently.
     
  7. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    Yeah and people didn't complain about the silent phone bug on 1.5 either. 2.1 is hazardous to our poor little eris's health I'm afraid.
     
  8. cmertin

    cmertin Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been having the same problems too. The thing is though that sometimes it would work randomly (though not very often). I think I've had it sync my facebook contacts maybe 3 times out of the 20+ flashes I've done. I don't have a lot of friends on facebook either, only 90.

    Again, it used to work perfectly on 1.5 :/
     
  9. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    Some roms take over 24 hours to complete. So if you aren't seeing it instantly, dont worry. They'll come. usually... probably... most likely... maybe... meh....
     
  10. hanzomon4

    hanzomon4 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had this problem... try going to settings/applications/manage apps/htc facebook and clearing the data.
     
  11. Sterlingmaxx

    Sterlingmaxx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also started having the Facebook Sync problem with Tainted Vanilla today...never had it before and I've flashed maybe 4 or 5 of the ROMS...
    Couldn't get it to add Facebook as one of the sync accounts which was also weird...
    Going back to EE2.0 since it's the only other ROM that I like...even though it tends to get laggy for me....
    My $0.02
     
  12. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    Dont do it yet! I have an update.zip that fixes FB sync on TV!
     
  13. Sterlingmaxx

    Sterlingmaxx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    *laughz* Thank goodness for nandroid!!!
    I backed it up just before wiping...I'll restore...where can I get that update kind sir?
     
  14. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
  15. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    Just copy to sd card, go to recovery, flash zip from sd card, reboot. done. fixed.
     
  16. Sterlingmaxx

    Sterlingmaxx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    OH!!! LexusBrian for the WIN!!
    Ok, I've flashed it...I'm going to give it some time to sync and see if it does...
    Cheers to you LB400...
    <end thread hijack>

    Maybe a stupid question as I know W4lly is pretty knowledgeable, but has he tried that update.zip?
     
  17. LiverpoolsNo9

    LiverpoolsNo9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    32
    I applied this and it put me in a reboot loop. Just letting you know. Fixed with a nand restore so no biggie.
     
  18. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    What are you running?

    First time I heard of that happening.
     

Share This Page

Loading...