ROM/Boot Animation Question


Last Updated:

  1. Todd M

    Todd M Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    39
    Quick question: (I did a search, but either missed it or possibly overlooked an answer)

    When I change ROMs, does this remove the boot animation that I might have changed? I know a wipe is usually involved with a ROM change, but don't know if that will wipe the boot animation. I was going to change one, but will wait until I load a ROM so I don't have to do it twice.

    TIA
     

    Advertisement
  2. jdkoreclipse

    jdkoreclipse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    29
    Yes...all roms have a bootanimation
     
    Todd M likes this.
  3. Todd M

    Todd M Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    39
    Thanks for the response and the heads up!
     
  4. Old Member

    Old Member Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    I can't seem to change boot animations anymore. I've tried going through ROM manager, I've tried going through adb push bootanimation.zip /data/local and no matter what I do I still get the stock boot animation. Any thoughts?
     
  5. jdkoreclipse

    jdkoreclipse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    29
    some roms have it in different folders....what ROM are you using?
     
  6. Old Member

    Old Member Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    Adrynalyn's Second Wave Rom
     
  7. jdkoreclipse

    jdkoreclipse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    29
    ok if im not mistaken it should be in customize/resource
     
  8. Old Member

    Old Member Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    1,905

    failed to copy bootanimaiton.zip to /customize/resource : No such file or directory

    How do I see my files so I can search for it myself? I can't even find a directory of my files
     
  9. drdoom

    drdoom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    183
    I think it is under /system/media for his ROMs.
     
  10. Old Member

    Old Member Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    You may be right there. Here's what I got this time:

    failed to copy bootanimation.zip to '/system/media/bootanimation.zip' : Read only file system

    Does that mean it can't be changed?
     
  11. jdkoreclipse

    jdkoreclipse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    29
    do it in recovery...and mount /system
     
  12. Todd M

    Todd M Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    39
    Does Virtuous have it in the same location as stock?
     
  13. jdkoreclipse

    jdkoreclipse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    29
    he has it in system/customize/resource which is standard in most sense ROMs
     

Share This Page

Loading...