[ROM] Handler 1.5 [3/29/10]


Last Updated:

  1. HandlerExploit

    HandlerExploit Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Welcome, if this is your first time coming to this thread I will explain a few things about my work and how to use it, or even contribute to it. First off I am HandlerExploit, I am a modder or a hacker whatever name you want to call what I do. I modify the operating system within the Motorola Cliq called Android. It is running an interface called Motoblur. I change things within the operating system to make it faster and more stable and to give it more features.

    To be able to run my custom roms, thats what we call our custom versions of the operating system you must be rooted. To be rooted is to utilize an exploit in your phone to be able to unlock your phone. T-Mobile or Motorola wont do this for you and it voids your warranty upon doing so. If you check your motoblur version on in your "About" section you will see what version you are.

    If the version is "1.1.31" or "1.1.4" go here, if its "1.3.18" and you recieved a ota (over the air) update go here. If you just got your phone and it is "1.3.18" go here.

    My roms are based on the newest version of motoblur, and to be able to flash my roms you must have a custom recovery. You can use Amon_RA's the one in the rooting tutorial; but I use a different developers, his name is punk.kaos. To download his recovery you can get it here.(1.3.18 only) A tutorial for flashing it is here. Once you have the recovery of choice, download my rom and put it in the root directory of your sd card and make sure to do a wipe/factory reset before flashing it.

    If you want to be able to get access to my beta(pre-release) roms, and be able to see my roms unfold with new features I have an updater available on the android marketplace. Do a search for "HE Updater" of if you have the scanner program just scan here:


    [​IMG]


    For this release you must wipe, to wipe your phone select the wipe/factory reset option on your custom recovery. You must have a custom recovery to use my roms. After installation let it load for at least one full minute. I also recommend you reboot it once after everything loads.

    You can find the complete change-log here

    Features:

    -custom kernel by kb7sqi
    -updated radio to 1.3.18
    -updated busybox
    -SimManager and SuperUser made uninstallable
    -updated apn list
    -adobe flash player lite
    -updated virtual keyboard
    -fm radio
    -simfree login
    -a2sd(super beta)
    -updated QuickOffice

    Added binarys:
    -bash
    -su
    -busybox
    -rosystem
    -rwsystem
    -lucid
    -sqlite3

    Added kernel features:
    -tethering
    -ext2, ext3 support (for a2sd)
    -ppp
    -tun

    Added Apps:
    -PersonalPortal
    -Wireless Tetheing for Root User
    -Download Crutch
    -Toggle Data Widget
    -Terminal Emulator

    Removed Apps:
    -TeleNav
    -imeem
    -AudioPostcard
    -Shazam
    -Amazon MP3
    -MySpace

    Download Handler 1.5 You Must Wipe
    MD5: 28b2a4396a4e1c65a19cf3e30236e4f0
    http://www.4shared.com/file/251676722/8ce1f8bc/Handler-15-update-signed.html
    http://rapidshare.com/files/369383877/Handler-1.5-update-signed.zip

    If you want more of my work coming your way let me know how I am doing, and for those who asked I do accept donations. You can find a link on my blog.

    Original Thread
     

    Advertisement
  2. aauussttiinn88

    aauussttiinn88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have a cdma hero and am not unfamiliar with rooting and such..but my buddy wanted me to root his new cliq...so i said couldnt be that hard lol it is alot different needless to say i flashed an update zip from the unlocker.com that supposedbly is an autoroot? but after doing this it did infact change the blur version to 1.3.20orange which he said was not on there before...so anyway i tried to flash the custom recovery and it connects and i can see the device but when i go into the shell and try to flash the custom recovery it says no such directory...any ideas?:confused:
     
  3. TopShelf10

    TopShelf10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    9
    I want to flash your rom, but you said that your ROMs are always based on the newest version of motoblur.....but the newest is 1.4.8.....1.3.18 is very outdated, have you updated that yet? thanks
     
  4. TopShelf10

    TopShelf10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    9
    nevermind, i should have checked out your blog before posting....you are definitely up to date!
     
  5. Buck Shot

    Buck Shot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    11
    rooted my wifes cliq yestarday according to ur instructions. Havent gotten a chance to play with it yet. I just wanted to give her more speed and what not. So far she likes it but aint into things like me...lol thanks for the help. I may update to ur latest version .
     
  6. stars75238

    stars75238 Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Flashed using your MOD but now Market is failing to download and install, what can I do to fix this? Any ideas or maybe redo the whole process?
     
  7. stars75238

    stars75238 Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    downloads working, how can I uninstall Happening and the such? Just asking.
     
  8. babaz

    babaz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    1 question, what version of android is it?
     
  9. stars75238

    stars75238 Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I was rebooting, it stayed for 5 minutes on formatting cache, i rebooted before getting a finish message, only got one widget loading error. Do you think I need to redo the whole thing since I am not really getting that many errors.

    OK, how can I know if I still have ROOT access, and once I have it, how do I delete the apps I do not need, like Happenings, News, etc... I want to free up memory.

    Pleae help, this is a really nice mod, I wish I new what the features were and how to use to get the full benefit.

    Can I run the ROOT process again if needed and not screw up the Custom ROM I loaded.

    Thanks, really I appreciate any and all help.

    Michael
     
  10. Pcpro745

    Pcpro745 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would like to know how to delete apps too, i downloaded Astro file manager and tried to remove the AmazonMP3 to test it out but when you got into system/apps it wont let you remove it............ any ideas? I also tried making my own rom but got some wierd errors after setting the files up and the manifest and so i figured i could just remove the apps when i get the rom set on the phone.

    Thanks!
     
  11. stars75238

    stars75238 Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have now lost my 3g connection, I can only connect using wifi? I had it this morning. I Am using android 1.5.
     
  12. TopShelf10

    TopShelf10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    9
    ModMyMoto - Software Modding Forums and Updates for Motorola Phones - View Single Post - uninstalling with root?

    you have to do it through terminal emulator

    i suggest you compress them instead of uninstalling completely, thats what i did and it works just the same (stops them from running in the background, removes them from menus, takes up MUCH less storage space)......as always, proceed with caution, good luck!!
     
  13. TopShelf10

    TopShelf10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    9
    are you using a taskiller? have you deleted the "Voicemail" app?

    if you are using a taskiller or are deleting stock apps you have to use caution and research first, ESPECIALLY when deleting stock apps because once you delete them you cannot get them back and you can mess stuff up if you delete the wrong ones.
    that goes the same for using a taskiller, if you kill vital apps then you will mess stuff up.
    The reason i asked about "Voicemail" is because it is now known that if you kill that you will temporarily lose your 3G. This may also be causing your Market issue.....stay away from Gmail and Google Talk, as killing or deleting those will mess up your Market. I used to have the same issue.

    BTW the only way you can get stock apps back after deleting them is to revert back to stock and download one of Motorola's official OTA's, after which of course you will lose root access. let me know if any of this helps
     
    minnesota133 likes this.
  14. minnesota133

    minnesota133 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I move apps to my sd card?
     
  15. TopShelf10

    TopShelf10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    9
    Apps2sd is currently not working on the Cliq, for ANY of the ROMS. Save yourself the time and stress and take my word for it. after i rooted i did EXTENSIVE searching on the internet (blogs, forums, tutorials, etc.) and eventually had to accept the hard reality that as of right now its just not an option. I even tried doing it manually through terminal commands via several guides on the internet, to no avail. Id bet almost everything i own that the developers are working very hard on it (even though it seems like they are not, as we are all very impatient because for most of us, its one of the main reasons we rooted), because the first one who successfully gets it to work will be a celebrity in the Cliq commmunity haha.
    Just partition your SD card now so that if/and its finally available you will be set to go!
     
  16. juanskarlos

    juanskarlos New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey guys, I just want to say that I like the handlers 1.5 rom, I installed it before the update 1.4.8, and when it comes OTA I tried to install it but when it was in the boot screen appears a error I just try to reboot but it not reboot fortunately i had all my files back it up, and all the flash files to reflash the handlers ROM, and reinstall the system super faster like if nothing happens, but the freaking update still popping up and asking me if i want to install the update, what do you guy recommend me?
    and there is an handlers update??? I still got the 1.3.18 radio, and I would really like to try a new update, thanks. one more thing I am trying to get into the programing stuff, and i was wondering if could you guys tell me what do you use to make roms, maybe I could help.
     
  17. TopShelf10

    TopShelf10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    9
    Androidforums.com is great a forum, unfortunately its not a good resource for cliq-rooting topics. I suggest you go over to www.modmymobile.com, thats what i used for all my rooting needs and ive never been let down. Any questions are problems you ever have will be quickly and politely resolved. its a great community. and im there will be plenty of people over there that will help you out if youre interested in developing.
    To answer your question. Handler released 1.6 Alpha 7 not too long long ago. Unfortunately i cannot supply the link for you as the forum is blocked on my comp at work. Find the cliq forum at www.modmymobile.com, click on development, cliq on Handler 1.5 ROM thread, then jump to page 87, im pretty sure its 87 but if its not, its close to that. look for a post from handler himself that says "ill just leave this here" and theres a link with it. thats the link for HE1.6 Alpha7. it runs 1.4.8. Be advised i personally had issues with it on my cliq so i am sticking with HE1.5 at the moment, but a lot of people like it.
    You will find a lot of ROMs in the development forum, some are stable, some are experimental, there is even an Android 2.1 port ROM, but it is not ready for everyday use, it is still in alpha stage and a lot of key phone functions dont work with it (i.e. LED light, vibration, headphone jack). But like i said go over there and poke around! You'll also find deodexed versions of ROMS so you can apply themes. There is also a great theme forum for themes.

    Also, search the OTA popup issue for the cliq...there is a way to disable it, pretty sure you do it through terminal, its somewhere in the forum (check the "cliq bible" thread, i think it might be there).
     
  18. croan

    croan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    seems they can careless if r phones get screwed....16hrs in and still no response from anyone..hard tobeleave when like 20 people have same problem as us.it will not flash the recovery image at all and doing what it says isnt working but yet blry as the vid is ya can still tell he was typeing some thing diff from listed below it! soooo unlockr help r loose all ya cool points n no free beer from us!:mad:
     
  19. noonecares215

    noonecares215 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Needless to say I had the same problem. If you are still following the steps from the unlockr.com then adb shell and flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-RA-cliq-v1.5.2.img should read
    adb shell
    flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-RA-cliq-v1.5.2.img
    also once you go into adb shell go and change the droid device to charge only. Unmount the sd card from your computer and the sdcard directory will be available.
     
  20. trevtf

    trevtf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I try to flash your rom it says
    E:No signature (799 files)
    E:Verification failed

    I currently have some 1.3.2 french version rom that I do not want.

    Not sure what I am doing wrong any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Trevor
     

Share This Page

Loading...