Rom Installing Through Rom Manager - Is the Boot Screen Supposed to Hang?


Last Updated:

  1. Brian Rubin

    Brian Rubin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    20
    Hey y'all, so I just rooted, and I thought I'd try installing a custom ROM through the Rom Manager program. I asked it to "backup the current rom" before installing the ROM, so it's been stuck on the loading screen for a long time. Is this normal?
     

    Advertisement
  2. bvbull200

    bvbull200 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    197
    How long is a "long time"? Sometimes a backup, wipe, and install has taken me 5-7 minutes, I think. Give it some time.
     
  3. Brian Rubin

    Brian Rubin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    20
    Been at least that long. I'll give it time. Kinda scared. What can happen if it goes wrong?
     
  4. wrapkgb

    wrapkgb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    242
    Get in the habit of backing up and flashing roms manually... I have never had any probs doing it the hard way! : )
     
  5. Brian Rubin

    Brian Rubin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    20
    Sigh, k, good to know for next time if there is one, but right now it's still on the loading screen. Anything I can/should do at this point? It's been 30 minutes at least.
     
  6. bvbull200

    bvbull200 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    197
    I assume you did a nandroid backup prior to flashing this ROM? You could pull the battery, flash the backup ROM and try again. I don't install ROMs through ROM manager much anymore. I usually flash through recovery, mainly because I wipe cache/dalvik twice before flashing and I'm already in the menu anyways.
     
  7. Brian Rubin

    Brian Rubin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    20
    I did a backup through titanium backup, yes. How do I flash the backup? (sorry, new to this)
     
  8. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    266
    Where is it hanging? What does the screen look like?
     
  9. Brian Rubin

    Brian Rubin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    20
    It's the white HTC EVO 4G screen.
     
  10. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    266
    I guess you are at a point where nobody can really tell ya what to do. If it were me, I would probably pull the battery and then try to boot into recovery by holding the power button and the volume down button.
     
  11. goodboy

    goodboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    8
    Rom Manager gave me issues when I was downloading ROMs through it and trying to install it, but they never worked properly.

    Chrome to Phone the links to yourself and flash them manually. I recommend you use Amon_RA to flash it(just place the files in the ROOT of the SD card).
     
  12. Brian Rubin

    Brian Rubin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    20
    K, I did that, now it's at the white logo screen again.
     
  13. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    266
    So you held the power button and the volume down button at the same time and it takes you to the logo screen???
     
  14. Brian Rubin

    Brian Rubin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    20
    No, I went to recovery, and oh thank god we're back. OMG thankgodthankgod.
     
  15. Brian Rubin

    Brian Rubin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    20
    I dunno if I ever wanna flash a mod now. What's the benefit to doing that anyway?
     
  16. Brian Rubin

    Brian Rubin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    20
    BTW, thanks guys for your help tonight. I was kinda in a panic. :)
     
  17. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    266
    Sorry dude, I fell asleep on you...hahahaha....I was whooped. Glad you got it worked out.

    ROMs allow a different look and a different user experience. Some are geared to saving battery...some are just a custom version of stock....like Myn's...it is really a Sense based ROM with a few nice touches. Like someone said, it is the way the phone should have come stock. Some people like vanilla Android and some ROMs are vanilla Android....ie no Sense overlay. ROMs basically allow you to do whatever you want with your phone.
     
  18. Brian Rubin

    Brian Rubin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    20
    Oh, okay, neat. :) Is there a way to install one of these ROM's without using that silly ROM Manager program?
     
  19. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    266
    Yep. You can copy it from your computer to your phone thru the wire. Or you can download ROMs straight to your phone "over the air"...I would recommend using wifi since ROMs are 200MB+. Either way, boot your phone into recovery and then select "install zip from SD Card" and then select "choose zip from SD card" and then a list should show up with all kinds of folders. Depending on how you put it on there is where it will show up. If you downloaded it over the air it will be in the "download\" folder. Select it and install it. ANd just an FYI, assuming you use clockworkmod recovery, all of your backups will be in the "clockworkmod" folder.....in case you get into trouble....it will not be in the "backups" folder as I think that is a folder related to Titanium backup or something....again...FYI as you go forward with rooting.
     
    Brian Rubin likes this.
  20. Brian Rubin

    Brian Rubin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    20
    Oohhh, neat! I feel like I'm just hitting the tip of the iceburg with this root stuff. :) Thanks for the help!
     
    flyjbaker likes this.
  21. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    266
    You're welcome....that thanks button works too!!!...:)
     
  22. Brian Rubin

    Brian Rubin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    20
    Pfft, you needed to ASK to use the thanks button? :p Sheeesh. ;)

    No other forum I'm on has those, so I always forget about 'em.
     

Share This Page

Loading...