Rom Manager Backup time


Last Updated:

  1. andysom25

    andysom25 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay so I hit backup current rom in rom manager and phone has been sitting at LG screen for about 5 mins now, is this normal? Or did something go wrong with backup?
     

    Advertisement
  2. motorsport226

    motorsport226 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    55
    Sounds like ROM Manager froze. Press the home button and you might get a prompt to force close or wait for ROM Manager, hit force close, exit out and try it again.
     
  3. andysom25

    andysom25 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks I will try that I'm just trying to do a backup and then get velocity I'm so anxious to be able to move apps to my sd card!!!
     
  4. andysom25

    andysom25 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried again although I am having the same problem, what can I do? What could be causing this?
     
  5. motorsport226

    motorsport226 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    55
    Are you rooted?
     
  6. andysom25

    andysom25 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea I am used universal androot and am rooted now I want to take advantage of that! :D haha I am so grateful for any help you guys can provide?
     
  7. motorsport226

    motorsport226 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    55
    Did you flash the Clockwork recovery?
     
    andysom25 likes this.
  8. andysom25

    andysom25 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay I'm a bit of a noob but I think I did when I got rom manager it prompted me to get flash clockwork mod and i said yes and it shows I have it when I open rom manager
     
  9. motorsport226

    motorsport226 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    55
    Flash it again, then retry the backup.

    If it still doesn't work, flash the alternate recovery option in ROM Manager (should say RA_GNM v1.2.4) then boot into recovery and choose the nandroid backup option.
     
    andysom25 likes this.
  10. maddog986

    maddog986 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    5
    The first time i tried to reboot into recovery using Rom Manager my phone would get stuck. I fixed it by by flashing "alternate recovery" (within Rom Manager) then flash back to clockwork recovery.
     
    andysom25 likes this.
  11. andysom25

    andysom25 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you guys I am now performing the backup just waiting for it to finish up then I will try flashing velocity I am super excited to download tons of apps ! haha
     
  12. motorsport226

    motorsport226 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    55
    Which method did you use?
     
  13. andysom25

    andysom25 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used the alernate recovery okay so now I have velocity on there but where did all my apps go??? ellppp
     
  14. motorsport226

    motorsport226 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    55
    They are erased when you wipe data before installing a new ROM. Did you back them up?
     
  15. andysom25

    andysom25 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    I backed up my sd does that count? I also backed up original rom
     
  16. Math-Uhhh-Saurus

    Math-Uhhh-Saurus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    12
    You're going to have to reinstall your apps. If you go to the market>menu>downloads, you should see all the apps that you had downloaded previously (and those you may have bought). If you leave and come back (without installing them), they will not be there so I recommend getting your paid apps first
     
  17. motorsport226

    motorsport226 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    55
    You need to download the app Titanium Backup from the market, this allows you to backup apps and restore them after you flash a new ROM.

    You can restore your backed up ROM, then backup all of your apps with Titanium Backup and re-flash Velocity. Then you re-download Titanium backup from the market and restore your backed up apps.

    p.s. - Don't forget to hit the 'thanks' button if someone has helped you out. ;)
     
    andysom25 likes this.
  18. motorsport226

    motorsport226 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    55
    Maybe I'm mistaken but isn't that market download history erased when you wipe data?
     
  19. Math-Uhhh-Saurus

    Math-Uhhh-Saurus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    12
    I thought Titanium only backed up the information for each app. For example: games - saves your progress
     
  20. andysom25

    andysom25 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    What about my contacts?
     
  21. motorsport226

    motorsport226 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    55
    No, it backs up the entire app. It's how I've always restored apps after flashing a new ROM.
     
  22. Math-Uhhh-Saurus

    Math-Uhhh-Saurus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    12
    did you enter them in through your gmail account? If so, they should still be there :]
     
  23. motorsport226

    motorsport226 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    55
    Under Titanium, choose 'backup all user apps + system data'. This will also backup contacts and call history.

    Just remember: when you restore the apps through Titanium after flashing, restore the apps only, not apps + data.

    You can manually restore your contacts, Titanium will create a list of everything that's backed up.
     
    andysom25 likes this.
  24. Math-Uhhh-Saurus

    Math-Uhhh-Saurus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    12
    I don't know. When I wipe data, if I go in for the first time to the downloads section, all of my apps are there for me to easily install again, but like I said (or meant to say at least), if I leave and come back, they are erased.
     
  25. andysom25

    andysom25 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay so I reverted back to the backuped original rom, I want to know what I need to do before flashing velocity again in order to keep my contacts and apps on the phone, if someone could give me a list it would be wonderful! Thank you in advance!
     

Share This Page

Loading...