ROM Manager doesn't work :(.. backups don't backup and rom's dont install


Last Updated:

  1. austins

    austins Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    So I followed droid-life.com instructions on rooting and installing Froyo FRF57. I'm currently running Froyo but thought it would be nice to upgrade my ROM to Jrummy Kangerade 1.0.

    So I paid for the premium Rom Manager and have tried doing the backup rom feature. It reboots my phone and does nothing. No backups appear in rom manager.

    Okay, so I said forget it. I'll just install the rom. so it goes through the whole process and says it needs to reboot and then nothing happens. It doesn't reboot at all. I try manually rebooting and it doesn't do anything.

    Is there a trick to make this software start working?
     

    Advertisement
  2. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    you recovery is messed up. Go into rom manager and press the menu button on your phone. Then press settings and then check the box for erase recovery. Then go back to the main screen on rom manager. Go to the bottom and press flash alternate recovery. After that flash clockwork mod recovery again and you will be good to go
     
    AndroidForBrains and almahix like this.
  3. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    I assume you've enabled advanced mode in the menu.

    Also assume you've flashed Clockwork Recovery (via the top choice in the app when you launch it).

    There have been some issues w/launching recovery when playing w/Froyo ROMs.

    The typical fix is to flash another version of recovery and then flash back to Clockwork recovery.

    At the bottom of the ROM Manager home screen is a choice to flash alternate recovery. Do that, then flash back to Clockwork recovery via the option at the top of the ROM Manager home screen.

    Then try your backups and installs again.
     
  4. austins

    austins Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think it worked! Wow, so easy.

    I just hit backup and it is actually showing a progress bar after rebooting this time! That's new!
     
  5. Sasquatch8600

    Sasquatch8600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    i am having a similar issue when i use rom manager to backup and update it starts a reboot then freezes on the Moto symbol. have tried flashing recovery mode back and forth but still nada. i am trying to install jrummy kangerade 1.1 if it helps.
     
  6. Sasquatch8600

    Sasquatch8600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    nevermind had to flash recovery modes back and forth four or five times but got it working
     
  7. schimm

    schimm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    60
    This seems to be a common problem. Had it the very first time I tried to install a rom and flashing the recoveries was the solution. Probably ought to be included in all the how-to root instructions floating out there.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  8. gabib77

    gabib77 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed ROM Manager and when I used "Backup Current ROM", the phone restarted, but dindn't do anything and on the screen appeared the frog in the butoom-right corner and in the middle appeared a giant trangle with "!" inside... The phone didn't stuck, when I pressed Home button it appeared boot menu and I could restart the phone without dissasembly the battery...

    Can anybody tell me why I can't make a backup? Thanks
     
  9. teddyearp

    teddyearp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    831
    Talk about bringing new life to an old thread. . . .

    From your symptoms I assume you haven't installed a custom rom. In ROM manager, go to the bottom and flash alternate recovery, then flash clockworkmod recovery again and try again. rom manager by itslef does not always make your custom recovery stick.

    To fix this, either flash a custom rom or go to my guides and find the one to flash a custom recovery manually and follow the commands there to make it stick.

    good luck
     

Share This Page

Loading...