ROM Manager Help, please?


Last Updated:

  1. LiquidBreadMan

    LiquidBreadMan Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, so I'm running unrevoked rooted stock 2.2 and have ROM Manager installed.

    I'm trying to install DSP Manager and the following happens:


    1. Select Download ROM
    2. Select Virtuous
    3. Select Extra Goodies
    4. Click the "Download" button
    5. Select "DSP Audio Manager"
    6. Click the OK button
    7. Select "Backup Existing ROM"
    8. Click the OK Button
    9. Click the OK button on the "Reboot and Install" dialog
    10. Phone reboots to Skating Androids screen. Bootloader is selected, so I press the power button (my other options are Reboot, Reboot Bootloader, and Power Down).
    11. I get a new Skating Androids screen that shows Fastboot, Recovery, Clear Storage, Simlock and Factory Reset. I select Recovery and press the power button.
    12. Back to the same screen from step 10.
    Help?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Ufkal

    Ufkal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    9
    Click into recovery that you see in step 11. From there you should be able to select install from .zip. Remember once in recovery, you use your optical joystick to activate the commands.
    Was this what you were looking for? Also, if you are looking for the DSP audio manager, navigate through the install from zip menu to clockwork mod and then the download folder.

    On the other hand, if this isn't what you were looking for, disregard :) I hope this helped.
     
  3. LiquidBreadMan

    LiquidBreadMan Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    From Step 11 it hangs for a few seconds, then refreshes the screen... some "Loading" text shows up, but goes away much too fast for me to read it. I never get to the Install.zip option.

    I think it's failing on the Backup Rom.
     
  4. Ufkal

    Ufkal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    9
    you are using toggling down to the recovery option and then pressing the power key? And it keeps "looping"?
     
  5. LiquidBreadMan

    LiquidBreadMan Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep. Over and over. (Thanks for responding, btw).
     
  6. Ufkal

    Ufkal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    9
    My next step would be to reboot into your phone, then open up rom manager
    try installing through there. Sounds like something funky is going on. I'd pull the battery then let the phone boot up normal.
     
  7. LiquidBreadMan

    LiquidBreadMan Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    It looks like it's a prob with ROM Manager and the Backup ROM option.

    I've been able to get the phone to boot back up and have tried the ROM Manager thing a few times (you know what they say about doing the same thing over an over again and hoping for a different result... insanity).

    Even if I just try to run the ROM backup by itself from ROM Manager it goes into that stupid loop.
     
  8. Ufkal

    Ufkal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    9
    Partner, it sounds like you may need to uninstall, reboot and reinstall the Rom Manager. There are others in the forums more knowledgeable than I, but thats the next step I'd take. I hope it works out soon.
     
  9. LiquidBreadMan

    LiquidBreadMan Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all your help. I'll give that a shot.
     
  10. LiquidBreadMan

    LiquidBreadMan Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    No joy in Mudville. The backup ROM option is definitely not working. Is there a log file somewhere that I can look at? The text that flashes up on the screen goes away too fast for me to read it.
     
  11. Ufkal

    Ufkal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    9
    Try looking in the Clockworkmod folder and see if there is a report.log in there. Thats the only place I can find a log for this.
     
  12. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,066
    Likes Received:
    8,532
    The difficulty might be in Clockwork. Reflash Clockwork using the top option in Rom Manager, then retry.
     
  13. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    550
    the extra goodies thing may not work properly if your not running the virtuous rom ?

    that's just a guess, i downloaded dsp and car home this morning and both worked fine (I'm running virt 3.0.1)
     
  14. LiquidBreadMan

    LiquidBreadMan Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok...

    Unfortunately, I'm not sure what I did to "fix" this, but...

    I was eventually able to run the ROM Backup separately, and then do the DSP Manager Download/Install from ROM Manager and it worked.

    I'm scratching my head over this one.
     
  15. Ufkal

    Ufkal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    9
    At least you got it to work. Make a backup :)
     
  16. LiquidBreadMan

    LiquidBreadMan Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks again for your help
     

Share This Page

Loading...