ROM Manager or ROM issue for Droid Incredible?


Last Updated:

  1. brownbuffalo

    brownbuffalo Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey all!

    I recently rooted my phone and downloaded/purchased ROM Manager for my DINC. Since then, I tried installing the latest CM6 but I haven't been able to get it right. ROM Manager downloads it for me, takes me to the hboot screen, then when I select recovery, it takes me to the fastboot screen. I've tried bootloader, reboot, reboot bootloader and power down (lol) to try to go on with the process of installing CM6, but it hasn't and I usually end up back at the hboot screen and have to power the phone down and back up.

    Any ideas what I might be doing wrong, or need to do?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    1,958
    You need to boot into recovery, not the bootloader... When you install a rom from rom manager it should be doing everything automatically, you don't have to touch anything. When in rom manager select install rom from sd card, then locate your rom, then check off both the boxes (wipe and backup), select ok, then watch the magic happen. The alternate way is to manually boot into clockwork and select install file from zip.

    When in the boot loader you use the power button to select an option. When in recovery you use the trackpad.
     
  3. brownbuffalo

    brownbuffalo Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the feedback.

    I let ROM Manager download the mod, at which point, it asks if I want to wipe and back up existing ROM. I do both.

    It then says "Press OK to reboot into ClockworkMod Recovery and continue the installation."

    I press "OK"

    Phone has a quick appearance of the "htc incredible" screen and then goes to the screen that has this:

    FASTBOOT

    BOOTLOADER
    REBOOT
    REBOOT BOOTLOADER
    POWER DOWN

    When I've selected REBOOT, it reboots. When I select POWER DOWN, it powers down, when I select REBOOT BOOTLOADER, the screen goes black for a second, then it comes back up again. When I choose BOOTLOADER, it takes me to the screen that says:

    HBOOT

    FASTBOOT
    RECOVERY
    CLEAR STORAGE
    SIMLOCK
    FACTORY RESET

    I'm supposed to choose RECOVERY, right? Well, when I do, I get a quick "htc incredible" screen, and then it takes me back to the FASTBOOT screen.

    Is there anything I'm doing wrong?

    Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
     
  4. rtm0004

    rtm0004 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    9
    you shouldn't have to choose anything, ROM manager should install the ROM from the clockwork screen
     
  5. brownbuffalo

    brownbuffalo Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    It doesn't.

    Crap, something must be up.

    Damnit
     
  6. masully1984

    masully1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    9
    going into ROM manager and flash Clockworkmod
     
  7. brownbuffalo

    brownbuffalo Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Okay, I flashed ClockworkMod

    Thanks.

    Do I try the ROM again?
     
  8. brownbuffalo

    brownbuffalo Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Tried to reinstall...let's see how it goes
     
  9. brownbuffalo

    brownbuffalo Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Great.

    Who knows what the hell happened now.

    After trying to reinstall through ROM Manager

    I have "Problem Loading" where widgets should be, I'm missing ROM Manager from my apps, along with other stuff...

    Geez, this SUCKS!
     
  10. brownbuffalo

    brownbuffalo Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Currently restoring from ClockworkMod Recovery....
    Latest one was from 10/28 even though I just ran one from ROM Manager. Starting to feel more and more like this is a ROM Manager issue.

    Piece of crap...
     
  11. Shadow637

    Shadow637 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    ROM Manager does the same thing to me when I download a ROM thru it... It works fine when you install from the SD card. I have flashed at least 5 ROMs this way and it works perfect. Just download the ROM manually, put it into the root of the SD card and flash it that way thru RM.
     
  12. brownbuffalo

    brownbuffalo Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks!

    I'm gonna do that WITHOUT ROM Manager

    I've heard of issues with it from other folks, but figured I'd give it a shot.

    Oh well.
     

Share This Page

Loading...