Rom manager, when to wipe?


Last Updated:

  1. tjreishus

    tjreishus Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    94
    When using rom manager when do you need to wipe and when don't you? So far, I have wiped data anytime I switch to a different rom. I am currently using Ultimate Droid. If I want to try some of the things offered in the ultimate droid customizer, do I need to wipe when changing any of those? Or how about cyanogenmod? I have a nandroid backup of 5.0.5.3. Can I restore that version (with a wipe of course), update to .4 (without a wipe because I have all my apps loaded and settings set the way I want), then try some of the kernals without wiping? Basically, with all the combinations, what are some examples of when you would and wouldn't wipe data?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    People will tell you different things based on their experiences. My opinion is that you should wipe data, format system, format cache, and format boot before loading any new ROM...yes, including updates to a ROM you are currently running.

    Is is always necessary? No, but if you don't you will always question any glitches, FC's, etc. and you will wonder if it would be different/better if you would have completely wiped the slate clean before you installed it.

    Just my opinion...I've had much better results since implementing this procedure for myself.

    Get Titanium Backup...it makes this "reasonable" to do when you update ROMs.
     
    tjreishus likes this.
  3. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    Agree with UBR 100%. I get easier and easier to reconfigure your phone (I can set up my homescreen with all the widgets in about 5 minutes). Titanium backup makes restoring programs a no brainer. As for the actual phone setting, each time I reconfigure them I find new nooks and crannies that I missed in the past. Most importantly, when I have problems, I can definitely rule out artifacts from a previous install.
     
    tjreishus likes this.
  4. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    I am gonna go ahead and agree with UBR and Shrink. Get titanium backup and all you have to worry about is resetting up your home screens and whatever settings you had. That way its not a big deal at all to wipe and you dont have to worry about any head aches that may come about from not wiping.
     
    tjreishus likes this.
  5. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    Usually you don't need to wipe anything when upgrading to a newer version of the same ROM unless they made some MAJOR changes. This is how it always was with Android ROM's as long as I've used them. Of course it doesn't hurt to wipe and that would eliminate any chances of FC's but technically you shouldn't need to wipe when upgrading the ROM to a newer release. When switching ROM's entirely like say BB to Ultimate or Cyanogen then YES YOU MUST WIPE.
     
    tjreishus likes this.
  6. tjreishus

    tjreishus Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    94
    Thanks for the tip on all that. Especially titanium backup. That will save a lot of time. If I backup all my apps then try to restore them to a rom where I have already downloaded some of those apps, will that cause a problem, or does it know not to install a second one?
     
  7. tjreishus

    tjreishus Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    94
    EDIT!

    Posted in wrong place
     
  8. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    Titanium has many batch options (at least in the pay version which is worth getting). You can choice to install just apps that are not already installed, those with newer versions, etc. Restore apps with data but I do not recommend restoring system data. That can lead to problems.
     
  9. vry5

    vry5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've read a few places that MyBackup (Pro) will restore your Android Home screen setups...
    I am using the free version (which it claims is the full version on 30 day trial), and it does not seem to re-populate my home screen for me... is this what others have found? or am I just having bad luck?
     
  10. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    It's been so long since I used My Backup I can hardly remember but I don't think it backs up protected apps and data. My advise, take a few screen shots of you home screen to make it easy to recreate. I find when I recreate my home screen from scratch I improve it each time.
     
  11. srothkin

    srothkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    3
    It does indeed restore the home screen, but the widgets need to be deleted and re-added manually.
     
  12. srothkin

    srothkin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    3
    Starting from stock Motorola Droid 2.1 rooted, is it really necessary to do a data wipe before installing http://koush.tandtgaming.com//motorola/sholes/update-cm-5.0.7-Droid-signed.zip ?

    If yes, I can back everything up using MyBackup Pro APKs+Data. When I restore from that after installing the CM rom, what should I NOT restore? And what settings (if any) would I have to manually reconfigure?
     
  13. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    You should do the data and cache wipe before install Koush's ROM. As for restoring, avoid overwriting programs that come with and have been tweaked for the ROM (things like Facebook, Spare Parts, etc.). I am not sure if Mybackup Pro will backup and restore your protected apps. That is where Titanium does a great job. As for system setting, resetting them from scratch will give you a better oppertunity to learn the ins and outs of any new ROM (and avoid problems).
     

Share This Page

Loading...