[ROM] Modified CM6 (Koush's test8) [CAM/WIFI-FIX/EMMC]


Last Updated:

  1. invisiblek

    invisiblek Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    6
    Based on Koush's CM6 Test 8

    Download:
    signed_072710_193743.zip
    8704e4f72ea41e6e7de40575ae679fc1 signed_072710_193743.zip

    Google Shits:
    gapps-hdpi-FRF91-2-signed.zip

    First off, i did not code any of this, i merely mashed together a few things that were floating around, and did a couple things to my liking.

    The Cyanogenmod6 Nightly Roms are very good. Camera works now! (no camcorder though) (I'm sure there are some other smaller bugs, but its very stable imho)

    Features/Changes from default cyanogenmod rom:
    - /emmc mounts on boot, but doesnt seem to work with music and whatnot (hey at least its usable!)
    - included rmk40's modified kernel (v2) which fixes the wifi bug (and still includes the new camera patch)
    - changed boot animation to this one: Custom CyanogenMod Boot Animation - CyanogenMod Forum

    FYI: the first one i put out had launcherpro/quickdesk replacing adwlauncher. i decided to stick with adwlauncher (and i will from here on out) for simplicity.

    Enjoy!

    Big thanks to cyanogenmod team and koush for their hard work!
    Thanks to rmk40, ejhart/hydra, and koush for the fixed kernel.
    CaptainTaco for finding where to put the mount command for /emmc
    Everyone in the android community that helps out!
     

    Advertisement
  2. SeaGrizzly

    SeaGrizzly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks as though they just got the camera working in the new nightly for CM6
     
  3. Steve03Merc

    Steve03Merc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2
    So we've got 2.2 with a camera now?
     
  4. JustDroid

    JustDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    19
    Camcorder function caused an FC then it rebooted on me. Camera works great though!
     
  5. Steve03Merc

    Steve03Merc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2
    That's awesome. I just installed the (former) newest CM6, and didn't een install any of the camera apps like FXCamera or Layar because of the 2.2 bugs. This is great news.
     
  6. invisiblek

    invisiblek Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    6
    bump for the update to test8 + rmk40 kernel v2
    read op for details
    yes, i know leaked is out, would you really go back to sense? :p

    EDIT: Mods can i get the thread title changed to: [ROM] Modified CM6 [CAM/WIFI-FIX/EMMC] please? thank you!
     
  7. Azelis

    Azelis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    3
    Any news how this gels with the OTA radio update? I don't have the official or leak yet and I've been holding off getting either.
     
  8. coolbone

    coolbone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    85
    I'm looking forward to a splice of the leaked 2.2 and Cyanogenmod.
     
  9. jasperwill

    jasperwill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    27
    im confused, why are there 2 zip files?
    i would understand flashing the cm6 one and then that would be the custom rom correct?
    but what is the "google shits" ??
     
  10. invisiblek

    invisiblek Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    6
  11. invisiblek

    invisiblek Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    6
    i have the latest radio update and it works fine, the camcorder is broken on the rom still so it isnt possible to test 720p yet
     
  12. invisiblek

    invisiblek Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    6
    what sort of 'splice' ?
    cyanogenmod is straight android (open source)
    the leaked 2.2 is from htc, which means it has proprietary code in it which cannot be modified

    i guess i dont see what parts of the leaked 2.2 rom would fit into a cyanogenmod build since cyanogen is compiled from source from the bottom up

    i did try to boot up with the leaked 2.2 rom's kernel and the cm6 test 8 rom and it didnt work (although i may be doing it wrong, or it may not work for other reasons)
     
  13. jasperwill

    jasperwill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    27
    ok i get it now. you install the CM6 mod and then install the Google software one on top of that.
    i thought installing these updates would erase everything that there was there.
    so correct process is:
    backup using nandroid
    wipe everything
    update using custom rom zip file
    update using google software zip file
    reboot
    profit
    decide i really do like sense ui currently
    reboot
    use nandroid to recover backup

    do i have that all correct???

    EDIT:
    actually i forgot im going to use titanium backup to restore my stuff and see how it works out before reverting back.
     
  14. invisiblek

    invisiblek Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    6

    yea that sounds about right, but some say that you should flash just the rom, boot up, go through the initial setup and then reboot to recovery and flash the google shits, otherwise you may have issues

    and the part about liking senseui, thats an outright lie and you know it :p
     
  15. jasperwill

    jasperwill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    27
    yes thats what i did since i wasnt sure about how to do it.
    i really like the loading screen with the blue swirl!
    it moves a little slow and jumpy for the first half of loading though :(
     
  16. invisiblek

    invisiblek Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    6
    yea, the guy that made it released higher quality ones that were a bit slower which is what i opt'd for, although the next time it boots up it should be alot smoother i think
     
  17. jasperwill

    jasperwill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    27
    i keep getting a force close of:

    process
    com.google.process.gapps

    did i install something from titanium backup that i shouldnt have? also is there a way to fix it?

    mostly just curious i really like how facebook is synced by sense ui, and i do expect i will go back to that.
     
  18. jasperwill

    jasperwill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    27
    that was fun and really easy to do. maybe later i will move to a custom rom.
    im restoring back to my nandroid backup right now.

    thanks for the help!
     
  19. mickym5

    mickym5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    1
    can i flash this over the leaked 2.2
     
  20. invisiblek

    invisiblek Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    6
    wipe from within recovery (dont let rom manager do it) then you can flash no prob :)

    do a nandroid 1st!
     
  21. mickym5

    mickym5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    1
    from nandroid should I do a factory reset wipe? Cache wipe?
     
  22. invisiblek

    invisiblek Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    6
    after doing a nandroid backup, yes. then flash the rom
     
    mickym5 likes this.
  23. crimton

    crimton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    180
    i just installed tesst 8 last night and i've got to say its great but i'm really not liking adw launcher. when i swipe left or right on my home screen i can literally count to 2 before the screen actually moves. i installed LP and was gonna use that but i cannot set it as default and get it to stay default. every time i press home it just goes back to adw. does anyone have a fix for this or can anyone tell me how to remove adw totally? thanks


    solved, installed quickdesk then selected LP as default.
     
  24. ryanbump

    ryanbump Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just installed test 8, and now my phone wont read my sd card. I go into settings and try to mount it to my phone, and it acts like it is working then it says sd card safe to remove. I cant get it to work at all. Its even worse because now i can use rom manager because i need the sd card to flash the recovery and get back to a previous backup. anybody have an idea how i can fix this?
     

Share This Page

Loading...