1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

(Rom){ODIN} Froyo ~~~That does not Brick! Downgrading Is Fine :)


Last Updated:

  1. BH_MAN

    BH_MAN Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,381
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    Caution!!! You Must be on STOCK Vibrant Rom & NEVER Have Already Flashed the JP3 Froyo Image

    Okay, Now with the Caution Posted, Lets Begin with the Froyo that Don't Brick ;)

    I have Tested this 5 Time's to Make Sure! Only install What I Post!

    First,
    You must already Have Odin installed & Know how to boot into Down-loader Mode!!

    Do Not Select Repartition In ODIN Flasher
    Second,
    Once Odin had Done Flashed, & you are in Recovery Mode you will not be able to Access anything & need to be at a Computer with Samsung Driver's installed & a working SDK pre-installed..

    Side note: you will get an error in recovery, Don't be worried!!!! Ignore this!

    Third,
    Un-plug the USB From Computer ( Not Phone ) wait 5 seconds and Plug back in! To make sure the computer see's the Device ;)

    Fourth,
    Open a CMD Prompt & type:
    Froyo with Downgrading back to Stock Possible:
    Download here > EUGENE373_SamsungS_Froyo_PDA.zip
    *Stock Froyo with*
    ~ Root
    ~ SuperUser.apk
    ~ Build.prop now Correct
    ~ Defualt.prop Also Correct
    ****
    *Issue's
    Volume Key are Reversed

    ****
    *Not working*
    ~ Rom Manager via reboot to Recovery!
    ~ Selectable Menu in Recovery
    ~ 3.5 Head-jack
    ~ Hot Spot Tethering
     

    Advertisement
    tRodHxC, kbohip, spiz and 2 others like this.
  2. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    84
    Ah so my assumption was right you would be the first to get froyo on board. You sir are effing awesome!

    is this based off of the galaxy S froyo build or an htc build?
     
  3. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    43
    I take it those things that are not working are mostly due to the kernal version correct? I haven't taken a look at the source they posted on their site, but does it have everything needed to build a new kernel? Isn't this how those over at xda fixed the 'lag' issue?
     
  4. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78
    there are a few fixed and modded kernels out there just dont think the devs have pushed them out for public consumption yet so just hang in there...
     
  5. popalock

    popalock Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, so can this update be done to a rooted phone?

    The only real features i want that i currently do not have are the wifi tethering and flash 10.1.....

    Does your update be incorporate flash?

    I've learned through modding cars that stock is the most reliable so i try not to mod anything unnecessarily.
     
  6. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78
    stock is not always more reliable... and comparison of cars to code isnt really a fair comparison since most rooted builds are usually improved from the ground up cleaning up kernel panic issues to small things like idle and peak speeds and this does take time alpha and beta builds always have missing elements because the problems in those areas need to be fixed... even when you are going to a newer build... think of it as taking a 67 body and putting a 69 or 70 motor... even if its stock you still have to tweak a thing or two but when its done you've got everything you want including reliability....
     
    BH_MAN likes this.
  7. psz

    psz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    27
    So it looks I'll eventually be using BH_Man's No-Twiz Jawbreaker Edition at some point afterall ;->
     
  8. ArnoldTrump

    ArnoldTrump New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Props for this, just picked up a vibrant yesterday. Does the froyo increase system speeds as much as the reviews say?

    Also can I install on a rooted phone?

    Been fiddling with it and i think i have everything correct. Although Odin3 v1.00 is sitting on File analysis.
    Odin: 0:[COM3]
    PIT: s1_odin_20100512.pit
    PDA: EUGENE373_SamsungS_Froyo_PDA.tar

    thats how its set and looks nothing else. Re-Partition is not checked.

    How long will it take, or am i doing it wrong?
     
  9. davidtanis

    davidtanis Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you boot into Down-loader Mode is it vol up+down and power?
     
  10. saamlee92

    saamlee92 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    turn it off, and yes. It's VolUp+VolDown+power/lock button. Wait till the "Vibrant" appears.
     
    davidtanis likes this.
  11. davidtanis

    davidtanis Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    should it say down-loader mode
    mine says samsung recovery utils for blm
     
  12. davidtanis

    davidtanis Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok found the down loader screen but now it do not show up in odin.
    drivers? it shows up on the other screen help please
     
  13. davidtanis

    davidtanis Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    got it
    thanks Guys
     
  14. davidtanis

    davidtanis Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do you downgrade Ive tryed clockworld but it goes the samsung recovery screen what Im i doing wrong
     
  15. irishmn69

    irishmn69 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Help! Can I use the adb reboot cmd on Mac
     
  16. TuesdayClub

    TuesdayClub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    3
    You can...but it is a PITA. Took me 3 hours to root a MT3GS using 10.4 OS X. Are you rooted already? Download Terminal app to do it from phone. Cmds through Mac are pretty frustrating, unless you are running a newer (10.5+) OS.
     
  17. one4house

    one4house New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got this working fairly easily. The only problem that I am having is swype not working. Is there a fix for this?

    When I first opened swype it told me that the version installed and the phone did not match, so there was going to be limited operation. I went to the beta download site and it installed, but it did not fix the problem. There must be a file in this ROM that is telling the swype download servers that the phone is a I9000.

    Let me know if you hear of, or know of, a fix.
     
  18. shalpp

    shalpp New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just goofed up bad.
    I've got the Samsung Vibrant.
    I followed this guide and now I'm stuck at the recovery menu.
    What do I do? I don't exactly have an OK button so I can't select anything. I can't boot into downloader mode or anything.
     
  19. bootsie

    bootsie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    17
    if you followed that link that you posted an you have a vibrant I am not surprised you have issues. Follow this one and download these images and you should be ok

    [GUIDE] How to Restore or Recover Your Samsung Vibrant : AndroidSPIN | Your No.1 source for Everything Android.
     
    koutouyo likes this.
  20. Jason Pedersen

    Jason Pedersen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    10
    has the headphone jack been fixed with this ROM? And I'm assuming otherwise it's Froyo as Froyo: Flash, more effecient speeds, etc.
     
  21. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    To which ROM are you referring?

    There are a number of different 2.2 ROM's out now. I'm using Team Whiskey's Nero Beta, and although I don't use headphones I've read a few post that say the headphone issue has been resolved.
     
  22. JOFOX

    JOFOX Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    After installing froyo 2.2 using odin i lost my 3g data/voice and now it's only on emergency only!! how do i fix this?

    (can't go back to stock everytime i try to install the stock i get stuck on vibrant/samsung flashin on/off logo)

    thanks
     
  23. rawfa

    rawfa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Everything went perfect until I rebooted the phone in recovery mode and could not select the option to reinstall packages from the SD card. I
     
  24. rawfa

    rawfa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page

Loading...