Rom Question

Last Updated:

1. hurdlinmasta

hurdlinmasta Member This Topic's Starter

I currently have Fresh 1.0.1. I want to try the new FroYo with the Cyanogen. I am completely new to Android and I pretty much went through the step by step process and it worked because I was doing it from a brand new phone. Now that I have a lot of stuff on it, my question is is there a way to update to the Cyanogen rom and still have all my stuff like I did nothing to it. Also, how do you install the Cyanogen Rom and install the Fresh Rom? Do I just use the steps or is there a different method if I already have a rom install?

Please try to use noob terms. I still have no idea what people mean when they say "flash this and flash that"

Advertisement
  2. cabbie

cabbie Well-Known Member

"flash" == when a zip file (a ROM or radio or application) is placed in the main directory of your sd card. When you boot into recovery (can be achieved by having the phone off, holding the volume down and then powering up), you have an option to 'flash from zip file'.

in laymans terms, its either adding or replacing something on the phones internal operating system.

i can't quite understand what you are asking in your post so i will offer this:

*before you do anything, reboot into recovery and create a nandroid backup.
    *in recovery, wipe data, wipe cache, wipe dalvik
    *then flash cyanogen.
    *create another nandroid backup now that you are in cyanogen
    *now you will be able to switch back and forth between fresh and cyanogen.

Because you have to wipe everything to put on cyanogen, theres no snap-of-the-fingers way to get back to where you were (as far as home screens, apps, etc) like you do when you restore a nandroid (which is a full system restore like you might do on your home computer)

What you can do, though:
    *Download Titanium Backup from the market (in addition to Busybox, it requires that app to work)
    *Use it to back up your apps and app data