ROM Service!


Last Updated:

  1. Carreno

    Carreno Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought I might be crazy but I've confirmed the fact that somehow, some way, I receive more 'bars' with Ic3 ROM than WW 3.2 -

    How is this possible? Is there a way to exaggerate the bars even if the signal is the same?

    It's driving me NUTS! And its the only reason I think about going back to Ic3

    -Its mentally pleasing, calming and comforting to see 4 'bars', you know?

    Anyone run into this? I use the same radio for both ROMS.
     

    Advertisement
  2. alprazolam

    alprazolam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    194
    I get a lot more bars on Aloysius White. I'm not sure if the signal has been improved. I know that my phone battery lasts forever now, so I wonder if the increased bars corresponds to less output by my phone looking for a stronger signal.
     
  3. Carreno

    Carreno Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea, its odd.

    I think it may be a way to 'promote' a ROM by doing something behind the curtains with code to show more bars than one should actually have.

    Just my thoughts.

    Bugs me.
     
  4. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    I agree with this,
    I'm on Ic3 Rom v2.7 and have noticed the same thing, I checked out cyanogeneris and get less bars, I really like the white status bar so i stay ic3.
     
  5. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    i COULD theoretically change it so that when you have 2 bars it shows up as 4 if that would comfort you :p
     
  6. T2noob

    T2noob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    98
    Yea roms don't mess with signal because they dont mess with the radio or anything like that. its just how the rom interprets the signal that makes the difference.
     
  7. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    right, i dont think that the signal for one is actually any higher/lower than another.
     
  8. Carreno

    Carreno Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    "its just how the rom interprets the signal that makes the difference."

    So then a ROM can say you have 3G, when in fact, you do not.

    Or vice versa
     
  9. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    i could fix my rom so that when you had zero bars it said you were full, or vice versa...making your own rom gives you total control.

    you could set it to say that when your 3g dormant-not transferring data-to show that it is. i could set the 3G active icon to be on all the time. or the full vars to be active all the time.


    i dont think this is what they did, that would be pretty sketchy in my opinion
     
  10. alprazolam

    alprazolam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    194
    And to further that question; if the ROM interprets more bars for a signal, does it correspond to better battery performance because the phone thinks that the signal is stronger than indicated?

    No matter what the signal indicator is saying, I still seem to get signal when I'm supposed to and I don't when there isn't usually a signal present.
     
  11. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    i never even pay attention to my bars, i actually took them out a while back. the way i see it, if you got bars then you got bars, if not then theres nothing you can do about it.

    battery life on my ROM, the one he mentioned as having the lower signal, has been better for me than any other rom so far.
     

Share This Page

Loading...