rom upgrade stuck at bootup after flash


Last Updated:

  1. zapper

    zapper Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    HELP PLS!!:confused: been trying and trying to get custom rom but always stuck at reboot after the usual 'pink arrow-circle' with vibrate. tried wiping options and installing the radios for the roms... story so far....

    -started on t-mob desire

    -used Lekky's droid den hboot0.8 guide and rooted without goldcard

    -confirmed rooted by installing shootme and autokiller apps which shows on superuser permissions.

    -went for the defost 3.0b rom and suggested radio and followed Lekky's install custom rom guide.

    -used rom manager and flashed

    -reboot... got the usual 'pink arrow-circle' with vibrate and then the four colour turning into 'X' animation that never stopped:eek:

    -after doing some googling... pulled battery and nanroid restored back

    -made a new 1gb goldcard using the goldcard tool on this forum, checked all directories are present before trying again

    -tried flashing using the recovery menu + wipes

    -tried flashing r8 modaco instead but again stuck after the splash screen

    PLS PLS any suggestions

    thanks in advance:eek:
     

    Advertisement
  2. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    The roms can take a while to boot first time, i normally drop the battery after around 5 minutes & restart the phone as this usually works.
    Mind you it can still take up to 5 minutes before the phone boots.
    (good supply of false nails come in handy) Lol :D
     
  3. zapper

    zapper Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    too right.... i've chewed down to my bones! and isnt it great this nanroid backup + restore :)
    from what i've done is there any thing missing?... should i still be getting that 'pink arrow-circle' with vibrate even though its (i guess) rooted.

    the 'pink' btw is like the t mob font colour!

    I'll give it another go later
    cheers
     
  4. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    If when you select recovery you get a black screen with the options in green writing, then you are definitely rooted.
    Always best to do a nandroid backup from a working rom as it gives you a safety net
     
    zapper likes this.
  5. zapper

    zapper Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes I get blacks screen with green lettering :)

    is there a definate way to check the goldcard is 100%?

    cheers
     
  6. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    Go here

    How To: Create a Goldcard | TheUnlockr

    Download the hex editor & you can use it to compare the goldcard image to your gold card.
    If you are like me & the majority of people it won't make much sense to look at, but to compare between the 2 is easy
     
  7. Killyouridols

    Killyouridols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Might Need to (Re)Partition your SD card Possibly? Most Bootloops are caused by a duff card from my Experiance.

    That or not Wiping Fully.

    KYI
     
  8. ajanu

    ajanu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    Why are you making a goldcard?

    Have you tried going back into the working nandroid and getting rommanager? I flashed from rom-manager loaded in rooted stock, worked great. Rom-Manager will also make sure you have the newest Clockwork, which never hurts.
     
  9. Tunga

    Tunga Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    27
    How long did you wait for the ROM to load? I've had it take up to ten minutes on first boot. You have to be patient.
     
  10. tremblingwater

    tremblingwater Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    4
    Try disabling the signature verification in the recovery. That could be a possible reason.
     
  11. ajanu

    ajanu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    you could also try re-downloading the rom. It's possible something got corrupted in the download process.
     
  12. zapper

    zapper Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you all very much for all your kind advices...
    I followed ajanu's commets last night and tried again with rom manager, the boot up took about 4mins but finally I have a 2.2 now :))

    After a day on defrost, still getting use to how... plain it is, but guess i just need to get use to things!

    Ive put flash 10.1 on and it rocks!
     
  13. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304

    Which Defrost are you on? If its 3.x, go settings>CyanogenMod Settings>User interface>Notification colors> and look for Custom Notification bar and custom pulldown bar. You can set to whatever colour yo want. Should change a bit of it.

    Also, I recommend LauncherPro as you launcher.
     
  14. zapper

    zapper Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I've put Defrost 3.0b on.

    Thanks for the tip danfrance, i'll try it now!

    And yes I just started using Launcherpro, btw, do I have to clear the old launcher if im not using it anymore?? If I dont will it take up resources+battery??

    Lastly, I think Im just using the 2.2 a2sd because I havent done anything to my sd card, is there a up to date guide on how to do the partitions and other tweeks to save internal memory pls?

    From the Android System info app, I've only got 22mb left out of max 147.62mb, this isnt good right?

    cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...