ROM Version:2.73.61.66 for Orange download error


Last Updated:

  1. annavall

    annavall Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi,
    I have just tried downloading this from the HTC website, however when I click Run it just prepares for an InstallShield wizard something...then nothing happens.
    Please can you tell me what I'm doing wrong, or if I need to do something else?
    I am doing this so that I can download the 2.1 later.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,484
    Have you installed HTC Sync, and if so is your handset recognised when you connect it to the PC?
     
  3. annavall

    annavall Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, I installed it earlier which went well, and it recognises it on the phone.
     
  4. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,484
    Antivirus temporarily disabled as advised in the instructions?

    If Sync gives a "green light" and recognises the handset then running the RUU should install the update. Maybe redownload in case it's somehow corrupt?
     
  5. annavall

    annavall Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    I deleted the previously downloaded RUU from the computer and downloaded it again, still no success. I even disabled Norton in case that was the problem, but that didn't help either.

    I will try it on a different computer today, although as it is an encrypted work computer I'm not sure it will work...

    If anyone has any other suggestions I'd be very grateful!
    Thanks
     
  6. annavall

    annavall Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    anyone?
    i just tried again now but nothing happens...
    there is an option of choosing to run it as "administrator" or "user", however it asks for a password and i have no idea what that might be...
     
  7. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,484
    I don't think it requires admin rights. I've never installed an RUU but I've run several up to the point of starting installation to extract the files and never needed to elevate the rights.

    Is this your work PC? If so then you're out of luck as admin rights will be locked down tighter than a Scotsman on Hogmanay via Group Policies.
     
  8. annavall

    annavall Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Right, update!
    I realised I had to move the downloaded RUU from the PC folder to the Hero folder...sorry if that is a silly reason, but it doesn't say anywhere to do this!

    Anyway, I have now attempted three times to run it, however every time it comes up with an error shortly after saying:

    Runtime error
    Program: ...
    This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way. Please contact the application's support team for more information.


    The phone only has an image of some characters, saying RUU in use.

    Anyone has this problem? It of course doesn't appear in the "to do" list when you download the RUU.
    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...