1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

[ROM][WIP] BACKside ROM (CM7) + Green Machine Theme


Last Updated:

  1. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus Contributor

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5,625
    Likes Received:
    1,532
    I like V6, but curiosity always gets the better of me. I've been using Ram Manager from the market. For techno rocks like me, it's user interface is simply and straight forward. Not as many options, but seems to play well with BACKside. It does smooth out and make the screen pretty responsive. Sometimes,a little to responsive when scrolling down the posts in a thread.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Enroll

    Enroll Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    16
    how do i remove the boot sound its getting annoying now -_-
     
  3. JerryScript

    JerryScript Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,212
    Likes Received:
    2,065
    Using a root capable file manager, delete/rename/replace the following file:
    /system/media/android_audio.mp3
     
  4. JerryScript

    JerryScript Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,212
    Likes Received:
    2,065
    Edit-- Initial feedback after this warning shows it's an isolated problem with my phone, which is reasonable with all the flashing, tweaking, and testing. Please test your camera to be sure!

    Warning!!!--- If you are running the 1221 build of BACKside, please test your camera now. I'm having trouble with mine not responding. I don't have time to troubleshoot before Xmas, and I know many people will be wanting to take pics/vids with their phones.

    Please revert to the 1216 build if you have any issues with the camera, I don't want to be responsible for missed memories.


    Hopefully it's just an isolated problem with my phone, no one else has reported issues with the camera on 1221 yet. I just want to be proactive and try to keep anyone from having an unpleasant xmas experience. ;)
     
    exProphecy likes this.
  5. brotherswing

    brotherswing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,054
    Likes Received:
    1,282
    Mine works fine. Just took a picture of my foot.
     
    JerryScript likes this.
  6. Kirurus

    Kirurus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    23
    My camera is also still functional.
     
    JerryScript likes this.
  7. a5pe4

    a5pe4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    63
    For some reason my wifi stopped working a few hours ago. It shows all the networks I've used but says I'm out of range for all of them. when i turn on the wifi it just keeps saying connecting. wtf do i do? I've rebooted, wiped, battery pulled and i have no idea what to do now! Any help would be appreciated!
     
  8. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus Contributor

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5,625
    Likes Received:
    1,532
    If you can verify your network is working then turn both your router and phone off for 5-10 minutes. Then turn both back on.
     
  9. a5pe4

    a5pe4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    63
    I know the network is working because other people can connect. I am at a hotel right now. I can't figure out what's wrong with the phone.
     
  10. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus Contributor

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5,625
    Likes Received:
    1,532
    There router is not recognizing your phone.
    I doubt you can convince them to turn there router off. Try doing an install of your backup. If that doesn't work do a fresh install.
    After going to the market app and signing in, try to connect to there WiFi.
     
  11. unknownsoldi

    unknownsoldi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    16
    I had a similar situation last night. My friend's router was working fine. Tried entering the router info into my phone multiple times. Kept getting the same thing. Out of range, connecting..., etc. Finally got it to connect after rebooting my phone.
     
  12. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4,085
    Likes Received:
    1,439

    Just got back from vacation last month... Every hotel I was at forced me to open a web page (hotels web site) and agree to the terms and other blobbity blah blah blah before it would allow me to connect. Is the hotel you're at similar and if so, did you try this step?
     
  13. a5pe4

    a5pe4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    63
    It isn't. There is no password verification here :(
     
  14. brotherswing

    brotherswing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,054
    Likes Received:
    1,282
    Hey Jerry, I've got a question for you. You mentioned a while ago that you use a mini bluetooth keyboard with your OV. If you don't mind me asking, what brand is it, and did you get from Amazon? I've been shopping for one ever since I read your post, and just got an Amazon gift card for Christmas. The rub is most of what I've seen get pretty poor reviews for lousy quality, no driver support, etc. If anybody else here has one or has experience with these, I'm all ears. I'd love to hear some opinions.
     
  15. JerryScript

    JerryScript Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,212
    Likes Received:
    2,065
    Here's the thread I found that keyboard in, and I still use it from time to time, and I still think it's one of the best purchases I've made accessory-wise. Got it for $12, I post about my experience in post #13. ;)
    ebay mini-bluetooth keyboard - Android Forums at AndroidCentral.com
     
    AndyOpie150 and brotherswing like this.
  16. brotherswing

    brotherswing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,054
    Likes Received:
    1,282
    Thanks, that's exactly the kind of hands on info I was looking for!
     
  17. exProphecy

    exProphecy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    42
  18. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus Contributor

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5,625
    Likes Received:
    1,532
    Hey JerryScript. I have the live logcat lite running on the boot screen.
    How do I get the live dmesg on the splash screen?
     
  19. JerryScript

    JerryScript Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,212
    Likes Received:
    2,065
    I don't know if you can with the lite versions, I use the paid versions (costs about a beer each, love that note from the dev, who wouldn't buy someone a beer for helping them out? ;) ), which allow you to setup a split screen with both outputs, and tapping on the screen will cycle through dmesg, logcat, splitscreen. ;)
     
    AndyOpie150 likes this.
  20. roblax

    roblax Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    My camera works fine, but "gallery" is no longer working properly. It links to picasa, but "loses" the pictures on my phone. I rebooted and they came back, but then "disappeared" again. They're still on the phone in other words, but gallery doesn't show them. Only a problem since the 12/21 build.
     
  21. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,567
    Likes Received:
    834

    I ditched gallery months ago before I even rooted and have quick pic. Best gallery app available.
     
    roblax likes this.
  22. exProphecy

    exProphecy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    42
    Yes, I've also had numerous problems with Gallery. switched over to Quickpic a while ago and so should everyone else! =D

    brotherswing, was it you who said you used s2e? I'm trying out s2e on this build for the first time. When I was using Link2SD, my Quadrant score was around 1300-1400. When I use s2e, I am now getting 1600-1700! XD Anyways, my only problem (which is pretty important) is my dalvik cache isn't being moved over to my sd-ext even after reboot. How do I fix this?
     
  23. JerryScript

    JerryScript Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,212
    Likes Received:
    2,065
    [​IMG]
     
    Petrah likes this.
  24. philetus

    philetus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    Merry Christmas Jerry and all.

    When texting you get words pop up.
    My wife just told me after I was "playing" with her phone, she no longer gets them. Is there an easy fix for this?

    Thanks
     
  25. brotherswing

    brotherswing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,054
    Likes Received:
    1,282
    I think you're remembering it incorrectly. I use Link2SD, and previously used App2SD.
     

Share This Page

Loading...