roms won't install


Last Updated:

  1. Ziost

    Ziost Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Everytime I try to install a rom through ROm Manager, after it boots into recovery and starts loading it it just keeps saying it cant mount and that the file isn't found over and over. Any idea what I'm doing wrong? If I try doing it through update.zip it acts like it's installing then just goes back to recovery without doing anything. I have an X and have had no problems modding that so I really don't know what the problem is.
     

    Advertisement
  2. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,698
    Are you doing this on a Droid X or a Droid? Want to make sure that you're in the right forum. Also, you're not connected to the PC are you? The SD card may be mounted.
     
  3. Ziost

    Ziost Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm on a Droid; was just stating that I've never had problems with X. No, I'm not connected to a computer.
     
  4. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,698
    Have you tried installing the ROM through recovery (x+power) instead of ROM Manager? That procedure has never failed me.
     
  5. digdug1

    digdug1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    309
    what rom are you trying to install and how big is the file?
     
  6. Ziost

    Ziost Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, when I do that it acts like it's going to install but then just goes back to the main recovery screen
     
  7. Ziost

    Ziost Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried the newest Cyanogenmod and Bugless beast. Cyanogen seemed to install once but then just bootlooped at the load screen. That time I didn't wipe data. I'm not sure the file sizes
     
  8. digdug1

    digdug1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    309
    try to download the file again with your pc and load onto the root of your sd card then wipe/format data system cache and boot and do a factory reset. after you make a nandroid!
     
  9. Ziost

    Ziost Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    i finally got it to work. After trying everything I could think of I just put the file on a different sd card and it worked perfectly. Not sure why it wouldn't mount considering it was reading the file off of the card. Thanks for the help/suggestions.
     

Share This Page

Loading...