Root acces on L3?


Last Updated:

  1. akselt

    akselt New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys

    I just want to know if it's possible to get root acces on L3 firmware?

    And if not - would it be possible to use "Market enabler"/"wireless teethering" somehow anyway?
     

    Advertisement
  2. damuffinman

    damuffinman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    13
    I've rooted my phone using the tutorials outlined here but haven't tried wireless tethering yet
     
    akselt likes this.
  3. Andronix

    Andronix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    16
    for wireless tether you need custom kernel with netfilter enabled...
     
  4. akselt

    akselt New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Allrighty. Now i am SU, an Market enabler works.. so far so good.

    but then
    Would that be possible on L3?.. If yes - what do i have to do?

    And then another thing. i would like to get OpenGL working. But i'm apparently not having adb root access so i cant replace the libhgl.so..

    I've read somwhere that:
    "SU doesnt mean you have a adb root there for the remount command will not work
    you can only use adb remount if you are in recovery or have a rooted kernal

    SU is not a rooted kernal its logged in as super user but its still restictive as if you use ADB when device is booted in normal and you type adb remount it will tell you you cannot do it on live operation"

    But i cant do a "adb remount" when i am in recovery mode (android system recovery V0.4.4 --- Galaxy Version ---)

    Can anyone help me out with all my questions...

    Thanks in advance :)
     
  5. screaminbug

    screaminbug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    2
    Install custom rom (drakaz' Galaxo). But be aware that Galaxo was built with II5 "in mind". But still, it'll probably work with L3 too (haven't tried it though, so can't tell you for sure).

    Odd. That always worked for me from recovery (also 4.4). What error do you get? Is adb deamon started as root (adb root)?
     
  6. KlaymenDK

    KlaymenDK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    130
    Hey, a fellow Dane! Welcome to the forum! :D

    How is the paid Market working for you? What country are you pretending to be in? How do actually pay for apps? Sorry to spam you with questions...! :p
     
  7. akselt

    akselt New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you screamingbug... I don't think i dare to install galax0, don't wanna mess it up again :) (i've done that a lot)

    ... But then again - i really liked the teethering.
    If anyone have tried it out, i would like to hear from you.
    Does anyone know if it'll be possible to use the phone as a wired modem instead maybe?

    I tried adb root again - and i worked just fine... So i really don't know what i did wrong the first time :).. So now the libhgl.so is copied over. And it works as usual.

    Hi KlaymenDK
    Thank you :)

    The paid Market is working just fine. I'm pretending to be in US (T-Mobile). The payment is pretty straight forward - just a click or two extra in the market. You just need to activate your google checkout account with a credit card at http://checkout.google.com/
     

Share This Page

Loading...