Root Access Question


Last Updated:

  1. tanner2007

    tanner2007 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is the point of it and is it safe?
     

    Advertisement
  2. devolio

    devolio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    37
    There's many points. Take a look here at what you can do with root.

    As for safety, well.. I've not heard of a single case of anyone 'bricking' their phone and not being able to get it back to a usable state.
     
  3. tanner2007

    tanner2007 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool thanks

    and you have to use a modded rc33 update and it will erase everything currently on your system?
     
  4. devolio

    devolio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    37
    Most times you flash or update, it's fairly safe to assume it's going to wipe the data partition.
     
  5. tanner2007

    tanner2007 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks

    and once you do this your phone wont not automatically update if there was a new update out?
     
  6. devolio

    devolio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    37
    Nope, you'll have to load the newest update yourself.
     
  7. tanner2007

    tanner2007 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks again, im ask rest question here

    1)how would i get a new update if one does come out
    2)will the phone look the same after your done?
    3)can i still reset it if I want to back to factory default and can i still go on market and work phone as normal?
    4)can you post link to have to do root access and if the post does not include, add the rc33 update files i need for the root access (i want to make sure if i do root access it wont be getting files off an old post)

    i think of more questions soon and thanks for answering all my question bro uaslly i dont get answers on these forums please dont quit on me now ;)
     
  8. devolio

    devolio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    37
    1) It will be all over the internet when it happens - usually just copy a file to your SD card, wipe if necessary, and load it up.

    2) Pretty much the same.

    3) Yep.

    4) Here's a link to the updates themselves, and the process to do it.
     
  9. tanner2007

    tanner2007 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    So if im reading it write and a summary your have to reset your phone downgrade it then root that downgrade and then upgrade it with modded rc33 update?

    but something confuses me... the second link you gave me has the links and instructions but the first link you gave me confuses me whats it for? are those more better current update files or what?
     
  10. devolio

    devolio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    37
    Pretty close. The dance sort of goes like this...

    Stock RCXX -> RC29 NBH Rollback -> Add recovery image and SPL -> Root and choose the update you want.

    The first link has all of the latest updates you can flash once you've gotten past the recovery image/SPL step.
     
  11. tanner2007

    tanner2007 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0

    this stuff still confuses me a little its gonna be kinda hard for me but im try
    if i mess up my phone how can i reset it? (thats if somehow I cant load up the phone)

    and the first link has latest updates is the rc33 the only update i need off the first link since the rest I have no clue what they are, do i just follow the directions on second link and use the updates from first link? sorry but im new at this, not new at computer but am on phones and this stuff ;) also last thing what does flash mean?
     
  12. devolio

    devolio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    37
    You can mess up your phone, but like I've said, it's pretty damn hard.

    If you have an IRC client, you can hope on #androidforums on irc.freenode.net and I can walk you through it if you'd like.
     
  13. tanner2007

    tanner2007 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok set up i pmed you and waiting you can find me almost any old time
     
  14. Scholesville

    Scholesville Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, can i check, my current version: FW 1.1 (STG-RC8). Can this be rooted? and issit possible to follow the steps in youtubes?
     
  15. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Should be able to as long as you use the proper ROMs ... assume you are UK

    you could also possibly use the links in my signature ...
     
  16. buzzdroid

    buzzdroid Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK rooting and going through the steps and when I try to telnet using the market app it wont connect error says connection failed to localhost/23 the null now what?
     
  17. walkerx

    walkerx Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    press the enter key twice then type telnetd then press enter a final time

    until i done this i couldn't connect i got the same error
     
  18. crazy88

    crazy88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does rooting the phone lock it? I use a three sim (UK) in my G1, and really don't want to have to get it unlocked again if i go root. I saw on the youtube video guide that it locks your phone. Boo indeed if that's true.

    Thanks
     
  19. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Does not unlock ... DIDN'T Unlock mine !! Different process to unlock ...
    If you are on T-Mobile not reason to unlock...
     
  20. crazy88

    crazy88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    No no no, quite the opposite. I do not use tmob, and my phone is already unlocked. I'm asking whether going root will re-lock it?
     
  21. Tanasha

    Tanasha New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I'm following this guide to root my G1, I've done everything is has asked me to do, when i get to the telnet "localhost 23" bit i keep getting an "error while connecting to server: localhost127.0.0.1:23 - connection refused"
    "error while receiving from server: null"

    no matter how many times I retry the tutorial it never gets past this telnet bit...
    I've no idea what to do now.

    rooting my G1 isn't even a challenge, Its near on impossible. nothing is working, I'm starting to thing my handset might be faulty...
     

Share This Page

Loading...