Root Access


Last Updated:

  1. tanner2007

    tanner2007 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    How can i gain it? I downloaded a task manager app and to terminate a process or application thats open and not being in use it says
    "failed due to lack of root access"
     

    Advertisement
  2. Phases

    Phases Community Manager Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8,499
    Likes Received:
    18,872
  3. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
  4. Phases

    Phases Community Manager Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8,499
    Likes Received:
    18,872
    Well, I do believe it should and will make it's way into one of the FAQs, but dev's forums (that 101 subforum) is all his, so essentially everything in there is a sticky.

    Perhaps we should put a link to it in tips and tricks or the g1 forum..
     
  5. devolio

    devolio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    37
    Don't thank me for the guide, that was thrown together from all of the great work done by guys like JesusFreke and the like over at xda-developers. :) I just whipped it up because I had done it about 5 times in a day.
     
  6. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    YEAH TRUE... But we dont give credit to the chicken for our omelet .. we give credit to the chef that brought all the elements together ...
    Again thanks ... to All concerned ...
     
  7. tanner2007

    tanner2007 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    You sure its safe?

    1)I have the RC30 came with phone is that a problem?
    2)If I screw up would I be able to reset to factory default?
    3)is these custom files ok and can still download updates like the "cupcake" thats coming out
     
  8. devolio

    devolio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    37
    I've used it myself multiple times, it definitely has my seal of approval.

    1) Not at all.
    2) The NBH file is a factory default. That's what is so great about this method.
    3) The JF 1.31 update is modified, and will not automatically download/install new updates when they're released (on purpose). This is so that an update doesn't take root back. Once the new updates drop, there will be modified updates for everybody shortly thereafter.
     
  9. tanner2007

    tanner2007 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    3.1)So it wont download lets say the cupcake update automatically but I can choose to download/install it?
     
  10. devolio

    devolio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    37
    It won't download any of the over the air updates - and even if it did, would not install them. When new modified updates come out you can choose to apply them.

    But in the end it's up to you, you can roll back to RC29 with the NBH and move back up to the legit RC30 if you want anytime.
     
  11. tanner2007

    tanner2007 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unless I can have the cupcake update I guess ill wait to see if that can be modded to get root access
     

Share This Page

Loading...