root and ad hoc connections


Last Updated:

  1. mindnumbinglyfun

    mindnumbinglyfun Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the recently released 2.1 update. Could someone point me in the right direction for rooting my phone, as well as how to unlock the ability to connect to an ad hoc network? I know Its possible with rooted phones.
     

    Advertisement
  2. alchemize

    alchemize Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    6
    http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/80712-downgrade-1-5-ota-2-1-doesnt-work-leaks.html

    That'll help you get back to 1.5 and then you can follow grdlock's guide from 1.5stock to root.

    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/53963-guide-stock-1-5-latest-root-2-1-a.html

    I'm not sure about individually enabling the wireless tether, but I've seen a few ROMs come with it. Fresh 2.1.1 ROM comes with it by default - all you do is click to turn it on, and then your computer can connect.

    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/79973-rom-fresh-rom-2-1-overclock-apps2sd-update-5-16-2010-a.html
     
  3. mindnumbinglyfun

    mindnumbinglyfun Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. alchemize

    alchemize Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ah, didn't ever take notice of that. Nah, if you can flash it over your 2.1 OTA, by all means do it! No need to add extra steps :)
     
  5. mindnumbinglyfun

    mindnumbinglyfun Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    i looked over that rom and while some people say its great, others seem to disagree, and several people even mention there is no wifi.. i read this from the original site that was posted on (link within the thread there). since this is my first time and i dont really have time to spend on computers nowadays could someone hook me up with something solid?

    im also wondering how i can go back to my htc sense theme if i want to down the road.. i dont want to install some bunk ROM or theme that is ******ed and i become stuck with.
     
  6. mindnumbinglyfun

    mindnumbinglyfun Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. alchemize

    alchemize Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    6
    There are a lot of solid ROMs around, it seems like the biggest deal is just user preference. I know White Widow is supposed to be very fast. Ivan's Official 1.0 OC is supposedly the "best
     
    mindnumbinglyfun likes this.
  8. mindnumbinglyfun

    mindnumbinglyfun Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    im thinking ill try white widow. now i will look into how to actually do this.. shouldnt be too hard, right? :cool:
     
  9. mindnumbinglyfun

    mindnumbinglyfun Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    question.. section 3 of the guide. is that for a rom other than the one i will be using? i mean, do i replace that step using the rom i want to use instead?
     
  10. Rossco_Pee

    Rossco_Pee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yes, you can flash that specific ROM or any other that you prefer during that step. Have fun!
     
  11. mindnumbinglyfun

    mindnumbinglyfun Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    problem!!

    9. Right-click the device, select Update Driver. Browse to your Android SDK directory, and you should see a "USB Driver" folder in it now. If you don't, you forgot to download the USB Driver package when in "SDK Setup.exe". Select the driver in that folder.

    i followed the previous steps exactly. the folder i got was "usb_driver". some things were inside as well as two folders, however when i try to update manually from any of those 3 folders, it can not find anything to update from..
     
  12. Rossco_Pee

    Rossco_Pee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    12
    Inside /usb_driver, you should have two folders titled /amd64 and /i386 that you should choose to update from. If you do not have these folders, you should try DL'ing SDK again. However, when I rooted my phone and got to this step, a window appeared telling me I had the latest driver.
     

Share This Page

Loading...