root and ICS update


  1. rrraven

    rrraven New Member

    Hi.
    I have just got GTab 7.7 (US, Verizon) and immediately rooted it.
    Now I found out they are planning to roll ICS to it soonish.
    How would this work? IIRC the page w/root.zip said it will reject carrier updates to not lose root; at this point I'd prefer ICS over root :)

    What should I do when update comes out to actually get it?
    Thanks.

    Advertisement
    :
  2. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker Moderator

    Generally, if you are rooted, it is not a good idea to take an OTA update, as it can cause issues. I have read that, with some tablets, it is possible to have an OTA update and keep root, but I'm not sure when it comes to your tablet.

    You say you prefer ICS over root... have you considered installing a custom ICS ROM on your tablet? This way you have the best of both worlds!

    With regards to your last question... it really depends on what you want... I think that other users of the Gtab 7.7 would be bestb to offer you advice on this!
  3. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus Contributor

    If you don't want to mess with a custom ROM but want to stay with the stock ROM's and the ICS update then you will have to see if it breaks root or not. Somebody will have a workaround to get root back within a couple of weeks after the update has hit. You can either wait to see when the workaround comes out or accept the update and wait for the workaround.
    Something else I thought I should point out: When you gain root access you can now go anywhere in your system files, and accidentally delete something that will crash a system process or worse.
    A custom recovery gives you the option to make a backup of your stock ROM in the recovery (this is called a nandroid backup). If you mess up, all you have to do is go back to your recovery, wipe and format everything that is required of a ROM install, and the select the restore option. Reboot back into your system and everything will be just as it was when you made the backup. All your apps in the same place as well.
    If you made a lot of changes then you will have to go back and do them all over again or whenever you make big changes just make another backup. Then you can delete the old one (the backup's have date/time stamps)
Loading...

Share This Page