Root/Busybox with a Mac?


Last Updated:

  1. endorphine44

    endorphine44 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ok, so I've been reading some info about rooting a droid here and at rootyourdroid.info, probably going to buy one this afternoon since the incredible isn't out yet. Rooting seems to be pretty universal between PC/Mac, but when it gets to the USB debugging/Busybox install it appears a PC is required.

    Anyone know if this can be done from a Mac or a Linux box?
    I don't currently have a Windows computer anywhere in the house, and don't really want to use my work laptop for this if I don't have to. Thanks for any info.
     

    Advertisement
  2. endorphine44

    endorphine44 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    10
    Update: found some info at rootyourdroid.info, under the Android Debug Bridge link. might be helpful to anyone else using a Mac.
    I'm still not 100% sure about the USB Debugging/Drivers, guess I'll have to try it this weekend and see what happens.

    Thomas
    February 5th, 2010 on 12:36 am

    Here
     
  3. scheng12

    scheng12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did this but it says the adb command is not found. Weird. In my tools folder there is an adb file as well.
     
  4. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    You can pretty much do it all on your phone using any of the terminal emulators available in the market (you would not type "adb" before each command. You can also use an "all in one" root solution from your phone using a program like DM Updater which will root, install recovery and busybox, and flash. I would still highly recommend learning how to do all the steps manually to prepare yourself for any problems. The terminal emulator would be my choice (you would need to make sure the required files are on your SD card).
     
  5. endorphine44

    endorphine44 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    10
    Shrink57, thanks for the info. I'm going to read a log more about it before I jump in. I'm comfortable with CLI and linux so shouldnt' be a problem once I get the process down in my head. I'm going to look into the DM updater type programs as well.
     
  6. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    No problem. I am sure it will work out for you.
     

Share This Page

Loading...