Root Dell streak on 2.2?


Last Updated:

  1. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    6
    Is it possible to root the dell streak that already has the OTA 2.2?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. nb_mitch

    nb_mitch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    42
  3. nb_mitch

    nb_mitch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    42
    I just tried the SuperOneClick and got down a ways before it died. I pulled the battery and after trying again, I got this :(

    SuperOneClick v1.7.0.0
    Killing ADB Server...

    OK

    Starting ADB Server...
    * daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
    * daemon started successfully *

    OK

    Waiting for device...

    OK

    Pushing psneuter...
    1076 KB/s (585731 bytes in 0.531s)

    OK

    chmod psneuter...

    OK

    Running psneuter...
    OK

    ***IF IT KEEPS LOOPING, TRY DISABLING USB DEBUGGING NOW***

    Killing ADB Server...

    OK

    Starting ADB Server...
    * daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
    * daemon started successfully *

    OK

    Waiting for device...

    OK

    Running psneuter...

    FAILED
     
  4. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    6
    awe :( ok guys thanks i will see what happens!
     
  5. Destroyed

    Destroyed Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know anyway to go from the OTA 2.2 to steves? I've had the official for a while but its starting to annoy me, and I would like the extra performance etc, but I have no idea how to go from the official 2.2, i've not been able to find any instructions so far anywhere >_<
     
  6. Aidan Bell

    Aidan Bell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    6
    I've also been having a lot of trouble trying to find a root that works, and would also appreciate any tips. Superoneclick didn't work for me either.
    What sync programs are you guys using? I tried the Dell/Nero one but it's so HUGE just for simple syncing, and caused issues. I'm beginning to wonder if the sync program may be part of the reason for root difficulty.
     
  7. Ghetto Geeksta

    Ghetto Geeksta Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    What I dont get is that it says look on your phone for the Build number, then dowload the root with your build number, when you click on the link to get the SuperOneClick v1.7.0.0 it does not let you choose your build number, does it matter?
     
  8. M3D1C

    M3D1C Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    I rooted mine about an hour ago. Download superoneclick 1.7 not the new 1.8, turn your phone off and on again, plug it in, open the program as administrator (vista) and select the uncageblahblahblah button at the top right, clicked root and it worked perfectly.



    she is annoying but i used this video to root. The only thing she didn't mention is to turn the phone on and off so it is only running base information, it failed every time until I did that.
     
    SPG30759 and kscorpio71 like this.
  9. msprakashmmc

    msprakashmmc Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Why should we root friends, sorry if my question is not good.. but i'm new to android DELL streak.. So pls tell me guys..
     
  10. aconrad86

    aconrad86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    2
    Rooting opens up a whole new world of android. more apps. custom versions of the OS all sorts of things.
     
  11. Rico ANDROID

    Rico ANDROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3,939
    Likes Received:
    1,828
    If you absolutely love your new Dell Streak, and I am sure you do!;) , you already are experiencing the features, customizations and ability to do things with your un-rooted tablet/phone that you may wonder just why did you hang onto winmo all this time!

    Now, when you decide to root your streak,... ALL sorts of "new doors" open up to you, taking your android and streak experience to a new level.
     
  12. Calab

    Calab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had no problem rooting using GingerBreak.
    I just had to copy it onto the SD card and open it with Astro File Manager. That installed GingerBreak, then I ran Gingerbreak and now I'm rooted.
     
  13. kscorpio71

    kscorpio71 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i follwed M3D1Cs video i had to turn my 5 of a few time to get it to work,but it did after trying sveral times by other means,this was deffinately worth it thank you M3D1C!!!
     
  14. kscorpio71

    kscorpio71 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    well it worked didnt it? It did for me after trying others,i thank her i was getting pretty frustrated!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...