Root? Done. Now?


Last Updated:

  1. DigitalBird

    DigitalBird Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay. I've rooted my phone as of yesterday (yay!) and one of the first things I did was to get wireless tether, which now works. Tested tried and true with the iPod.

    However, I noticed that the boot and splash screen hang a bit on boot after a power on. Is there something that I'm missing regarding that?

    Second, is there a guide for installing themes on phones? Other than saying that it's the same as flashing a ROM?

    I've already noticed something for battery life but I don't want to try that just yet. Also, if I used a Mac can I use a PC and the SDK pack for editing?
     

    Advertisement
  2. sabrewings

    sabrewings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    104
    You need a deodexed ROM to be able to install themes. You load the ROM, then you can load themes.
     
  3. DigitalBird

    DigitalBird Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks! I guess this is going to be a question that I'm about to go answer for myself. Lunch!

    Question: Does installing a ROM clear out other settings/information? Or will everything still be there?
     
  4. sabrewings

    sabrewings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    104
    It's not required, but it is. It's possible to update the ROM and everything be there, but you'll have a lot of problems from it. You should wipe all your settings and apps using ClockworkMod (internal memory for pics and such can stay).
     
    DigitalBird likes this.
  5. DigitalBird

    DigitalBird Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I literally just read that part about Clockwork Mod via the page on Virtuous ROM. I'm a little fuzzy mentally at the moment. Entering into the Mod is the power button+down volume, right? Do you need to be connected to a PC at the time or can it be stand alone? And exiting out of there is only pressing the trackball or is there an exit?

    I think that I would have been looking more at the phone last night when it was rooting but I didn't even want to touch it. Too nervous. Which in hindsight, wasn't so bad. :)

    I do know that Nandroid does everything as a backup, but is there a need for Titanium as well if you're doing that? Or are they really both the same?

    Ah, so many questions. I'll stop soon. Honest.

    P.S. I'm reading the guide to flashing roms as we speak. That.. kills nearly all of my questions. I think.
     
  6. Ufkal

    Ufkal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    9
    Get the titanium because is backs up your application settings. So if you have games with save points, those are saved. That kind of thing. Its free. But if you "donate" you get some nice benes like batch restore which saves the time of having to manually load each app from the backup.

    Just my thoughts on that.
     
  7. DigitalBird

    DigitalBird Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Already downloaded Titanium shortly before my lunch is up. It did give me an error that pretty much said that my phone wasn't rooted? It said that it was asking for root priv and it couldn't obtain them. Does this mean I just need to get BusyBox?

    Or something else happened, I'm going to look through some posts this afternoon while I can. Is there something I should be looking for?

    Also, I didn't see Nandroid when I went into the recovery menu. It would be listed there in nice green letters, I'd suppose?

    For about $4 or so, I won't mind paying for an app that will cut my time in half.
     
  8. Ufkal

    Ufkal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    9
    Go ahead and let it download the busy box, reboot and it should work.
    and I think (and could be wrong) that just selecting backup in the green letters is the nandroid backup
     
  9. DigitalBird

    DigitalBird Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Worked like a charm! Thanks! I can't do anything else extensive until I have free time later this evening, aside from read.

    Everything else is answered (or I'm currently reading) but do other people have issues with the slow boot or the splash screen that sits there a few moments longer?
     

Share This Page

Loading...