Root + Eugene's Vibrant4 + Lag Fix = Amazing


Last Updated:

  1. spiz

    spiz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    128
    [UTIL] One Click Lag Fix - xda-developers

    +

    (Rom) Vibrant4 Eclair 2.1 flashable .zip * 8/8/2010* - xda-developers

    =

    Awesome.

    The phone is wicked snappy now. Everything opens and closes very fast compared to stock, and the market opens faster than I've ever seen on any phone. I highly recommend people spend some time making this phone perform the way it should.

    [​IMG]

    On top of that, my GPS locks on very quickly with no blue circle around my arrow. Not sure how it relates to what I've done, but I can only assume Eugene did some tweaks in his ROM.
     

    Advertisement
    elchingon666 and llblwskydrgn like this.
  2. mavictb

    mavictb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    15
    Awesome Spiz.... I am going to do this tonight... Im assuming you do the flash first then the lag fix right? also is doing Jacs Kernal on top of all this possible or do you have to do the kernal first then flash then lag fix?
     
  3. spiz

    spiz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    128
    Yes, I flashed the Vibrant4 ROM prior to doing the lag fix because flashing the ROM would wipe the fix. I'm not sure about Jacs kernel because I didn't mess with that.

    My steps were: Root, Install ClockworkMod Recovery, Flash Vibrant4, Install BusyBox 1.17, apply one click lag fix.

    I was hopping all over from thread to thread at XDA, so it took me a while... but it was worth learning how to do all of this for the future.
     
  4. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    For those of us new to all of this, can you elaborate on where to get ClockworkMod Recovery, how to Flash Vibrant 4, and where to get BusyBox? Or should us newbies leave all of this alone until we know what we're doing?
     
  5. kbohip

    kbohip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    16
  6. spiz

    spiz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    128
    Haha no it's okay, we were all newbies at one time too. I would highly recommend just taking some time to research before doing anything. I probably should have posted this in the root section, but I assumed people avoided that section if they didn't bother to root.

    Anyways, here are the steps:

    ALWAYS REMEMBER: Always have USB Debugging turned on (Menu > Settings > Applications > Development > USB Debugging)

    Root your device: xda-developers - View Single Post - Root your Vibrant

    Clockworkmod recovery information is here: [RECOVERY] ClockworkMod Recovery for Vibrant (FINAL! SAFE!) - xda-developers

    The steps are pretty simple, but to get started, download Rom Manager from the market, and go from there. When in Rom Manager, select "Flash ClockworkMod Recover FIRST. The steps in the above links are pretty simple to follow.

    Get used to using this if you want to dive into the realm of flashing custom stuff to your phone. ClockworkMod Recovery makes this process so simple, plus it will be necessary since all of the devs use it.

    Once you have that installed and can successfully boot into clockwork's download mode (recovery), you're ready to install the Vibrant4 ROM which is located here: (Rom) Vibrant4 Eclair 2.1 flashable .zip * 8/8/2010* - xda-developers (Thanks to Eugene373/BH_MAN) Follow the instructions and you'll be fine.

    Once you have successfully done that, you're ready to apply the lag fix. Information on the easiest way to do this is here: [UTIL] One Click Lag Fix - xda-developers (Thanks to RyanZA)

    Once you've done this, run Quadrant from the market and check your score. Stock Vibrants typically get ~900 scores. If the lag fix worked, you should be close to mine.

    If you need help, ask around. I'll try to help, but there are people much better at this than myself, but I think this is the best way to really enjoy your phone, so I'd love to help.

    Edit: I can't stress this enough, but if you like your phone and your wallet, please take the time to read everything you can before attempting anything. The better understanding you have of this stuff, the better off you'll be. It's hard to screw this up if you follow instructions carefully and ask questions.
     
  7. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    Thank you so much!
     
  8. mahgnillig

    mahgnillig Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that link... very useful :)

    I have a question... If I do all this root/flash stuff, what happens when T-Mobile does OTA updates? For example, I work on the road, so I don't always have access to my computer to do stuff to my phone (and I don't always have time to do it when I'm at home). If I make my phone non-stock, will it mess up when T-Mobile does updates?
     
  9. robo21

    robo21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    95
  10. spiz

    spiz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    128
    Well, if you flash a custom ROM (i.e. Vibrant4), then you'd be unable to receive OTA updates. There is the ability to flash back to stock, but if you're on the road a lot, you might want to just stick to rooting and applying the lag fix for now.

    The developers will always have a custom version of any updates Samsung/TMobile provide, but in your situation, you might be better off staying away from the custom roms for now. :(

    Personally, I use custom roms until we're given a date range for an OTA, then I flash back to stock for that period of time. Typically though, the developers are faster at getting updates to us than TMobile is at sending them OTA.
     
  11. spiz

    spiz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    128
    I haven't tried this, but I'm wondering if he included it in Vibrant4 because my GPS is actually working very well now. So much in fact that I'm not sitting around hoping for a Samsung update. :cool:
     
    robo21 likes this.
  12. mavictb

    mavictb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    15
    thanks for the reply spiz... I lost my mind for a second about how flashing roms works... I will look more into the over clocked kernal on my own. i already have flashed a rom once so I should have known that haha. thanks for the post on how it works though.
     
  13. fangorious

    fangorious Guest

    Also be aware of the difference between rooting and flashing a custom ROM. The current method I know of for rooting a Vibrant is completely reversible. It simply installs some extra bits within the factory installed and approved ROM. When you flash a custom ROM you unlock the bootloader and install a custom recovery image that allows you to run unapproved ROMs. A simple factory reset from the Settings app will undo root and you can send it in for full warranty support. But once that bootloader is unlocked you may have some splaining to do before T-Mobile or Samsung will touch it, even if you pay extra for insurance.

    Just wanted to make sure everyone asking about instructions for newbies understands the possibility of losing their warranty by running a custom ROM.
     
  14. The K-Zoo Kid

    The K-Zoo Kid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    6
    I really do not understand how to do this lag fix spiz :( i have tried the original and the apk version... no luck :( Could you maybe explain how to do the update.zip version? i feel like that would be the easiest way..
     
  15. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    43
    I'm going through the process right now, but while doing my reading, came across this

    Full Update Guide - Samsung Galaxy S (Vibrant) - CyanogenMod Wiki

    NOTE: There is NO cyanogenmod available at this time.

    This simply has well written instructions on how to apply the root update.zip and get ROM Manager and ClockworkMOD recovery installed

    UPDATE: OK gone through and did all of it, but the lag fix isn't applying(the update.zip version). I'll have to use the pc script version. But even without the lag fix applied, the phone boots up so fast it doesn't have time to finish the samsung bootlogo, which is kinda sad cus I like it.

    UPDATE 2: OK got the lag fix working, had adb setup on my laptop back in the behold II dark days lol Be sure to have phone active when you launch the lagfix script as the SU request pop will show up only if you have the phone active, otherwise it will fail, but no biggie. Just do it again. As a side note, I backed up my sd and internal memory, used the Factory Reset option in settings to wipe the phone, then formatted both sd and internal before starting all this. I dont have any apps installed but the required ROM Manager and Busybox and of course Quandrant.

    [​IMG]

    Final Update: In the end, i reflashed over back to stock as I think BHMAN's rom cuts out a bit too much for my taste, but simply put back the root+lag fix+gps fix. Then with all my apps installed, the score drops to 2064. (BTW ROM Manager/ClockworkMod Recovery makes this all so easy. I remember when we had to ODIN everything *shiver* )
     
  16. mavictb

    mavictb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    15
    just got this done.... my device seems a little slower than the rest who have done this =(

    I also have noticed that the boot animation has gone away due to the speed increase... it freaked me out the first time i booted it because it didnt have the animation lol.
    I didnt take a screen shot of my benchmark which was 890.

    anyway here is the screen shot:
     

    Attached Files:

  17. aci78

    aci78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ok, help please. I was able to get the ClockWorlMod recovery installed, that alone made it much faster:). Downloaded Vibrant4 and Busybox1.17. For some reason, the Vibrant4 file is not taking. Checked my file manager, and it shows Odin, Vibrant 4, Busybox. Did I miss a step? I need step by step directions for a total newb, apparently.(including when it's necessary to reboot, flash after each step)

    Also, could not get the lag fix to download. Everytime I went to install the file from the fileshare website, the coundown to download would time out after a bout 4-5 seconds.
    Thank you for this post, btw. Getting my 890 benchmark is nice enough, cant wait to see how 2000+ looks!
     
  18. spiz

    spiz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    128
    Okay I'll try to walk you through this... You say that you have ClockworkMod Recovery installed. Does this mean that you've installed it via Rom Manager from the market?

    If so, have you successfully flashed ClockworkMod Recovery and are able to boot into recovery?

    Let me know and we'll start there. Just need to clarify that.
     
  19. aci78

    aci78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    6
    yes, I have flashed clockwork mod recovery and was able to boot into recovery mode. Appreciate the help. :eek:
     
  20. spiz

    spiz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    128
    When you rebooted into recovery, did you apply the update.zip that ClockworkMod Recovery placed on your sdcard?
     
  21. floepie

    floepie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    Why is busybox necessary in this, and why aren't people simply getting it from the Market? It's from the same developer. I pretty much understand what Busybox is and does, but what app along the way requires that environment? In all these tutorials, some mention the requirement to install Busybox and others do not. So, anyone with a little knowledge, could please shed some light?
     
  22. aci78

    aci78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    6

    yes, just went back in and re-tried that. Didn't notice a change. Quadrant score was basically the same. went to install ryanzaext2llagfix, and now my phone is frozen saying installing updates. It's been there for almost 10 mins. How to save it?
     
  23. aci78

    aci78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    6
    ok, was able to get out of frozen screen. can't help thinking I missed a step somewhere on this lag update process. In reading the process seems easy enough, though.
     
  24. llblwskydrgn

    llblwskydrgn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks spiz, I decided to take the plunge and root my phone yesterday night.
    Getting quadrant marks over 2000 easily with the lag fix applied.
     
  25. kiddiosky

    kiddiosky New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    tried using the update.zip way for the LagFix. After All Complete.. none of my Apps works.. so I reboot my phone. After the Samsung Logo.. its just a blank black screen.

    Just did a factory reset.... now working again

    Trying to use the 1 Click LagFix now, but it give an Error Device not found.. any ideas?
     

Share This Page

Loading...