Root, fix Bing/Google, then unroot?


Last Updated:

  1. Bwangster12

    Bwangster12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    3
    If I get the Fascinate, root the phone, fix any of the Bing/Google search stuff that I can, and then remove root... will it change any of the Google Search fixes I made?

    I mainly want to fix the soft search button and fully make it Google, but if I do that and then unroot, will it revert back to Bing again?

    What if I remove root, to prepare for a software update, and then do the update. Will I have to then reroot and make all my phone changes again? Refix the soft search button and anything else I want?
     

    Advertisement
  2. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    3 things.
    1] Since you said if I get the SF, I'll assume you dont have one now. If you get one now it should come with the DI01 applied already so now worries there. Or if not just DL it before you root.
    2] If I misinterpreted your words and you already have an SF and are rooted, its not necessary to unroot to apply the update [which may I add did little to nothing to the phone and I question its worthiness] but anyway. You can merely DL the zip, save it your sdcard and go that route
    3] If you insist [for whatever reason] on unrooting, you can always re-root and yes do anything you want
     
  3. Bwangster12

    Bwangster12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    3
    I do not have a Fascinate as of yet. I am in that phase before I get a phone and trying to research to death.

    I prefer the Fascinate, but want to make sure its as Google equivalent to any other Android phone. I want the soft search key to work for Google, I want the Voice Search and Voice Commands to work for Google, I want the text entry boxes to work for Google. I have found Bing's voice search searches slow and registers things slowly.

    My thinking is that to do this, I root... then I can just download the Google Enhanced Search .apk, rename the Bing one and I'd be set, right? I'd be happy with Touchwiz, and don't know I'd really want to bother messing with anything else. I have always been a stock type of guy. That being said, to make sure I could get technical support if needed, ensure I can get updates... I'd just unroot after I make the search fix. Just wanna make sure after I unroot it doesn't revert back my Google Search work.
     
  4. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    3 out of 4. You get soft key and voice search and command from the widget. Text box/browser still seems to be Bing. To be clear to have the google widget you do need to run a 3rd party launcher, not TW.
    [​IMG]
    Root does not block the OTA updates, removing stuff from the stock ROM does
     
  5. Bwangster12

    Bwangster12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    3
    Okay, yeah I don't care about the widget, if I can get the soft key to work fully.

    So the text box and browser still seems Bing. Do you know what I mean about the little delay with Bing Voice Search "thinking" and clearly recognizing what you are saying? If I was one that wanted to use voice to text in those text message entry boxes or even in my browser window text entry box, I'd find this annoying right? Well, if I download a new browser like Dolphin or Opera, does the microphone in the text entry box keyboard still go through Bing?

    Having it use Bing in text message entry boxes and emails really does suck.
     
  6. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    Yeah I do know what you mean about the delay
     
  7. Bwangster12

    Bwangster12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    3
    At first I thought that was the phone itself, but using Google was so much faster.

    Not being able to change that on the text entry boxes scares me.
     
  8. PJnc284

    PJnc284 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    14
    Well that was a lot easier than I thought. Install enhancedgooglesearchprovider.apk, rename bing apk, profit. Search key now routes through google including voice search.
     
  9. GoBruins

    GoBruins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    44
    Is there a fix for this? Browser change from Bing to Google?
     
  10. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    I dont know that using Dolphin or xscope makes a difference
     
  11. PJnc284

    PJnc284 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    14
    yeah, Dolphin defaults to google search for stuff entered in the address bar.
     
  12. wtherrell

    wtherrell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    34
    After the VZW OTA update, I side loaded the enhancedgooglesearch apk from a link somewhere in the forums and installed it with Astro. Using LauncherPro Plus and Dolphin HD browser you would not even know bing is anywhere around. BTW I did NOT have to root to do this! Softkey now launches google search. The voice command response on google search in Nav is absolutely fab! Key search could not find what I wanted so I clicked voice search when prompted to speak destination I said "Dicks Sporting Goods Near Huntersville NC" Wow! 4 choices immediately popped up. Clicking one gives phone number and location. You choose to 1 click call them or navigate there. I wish I had this on my Standalone car GPS device! Only reason I don't use the google nav on the phone all the time is that the volume is not loud enough on the spoken directions, even when turned all the way up. That's about the only reason I'm still hanging onto my old Magellan (well, that and the AAA tour guide included on the Maggie.)
     
    II Kings 9:20 likes this.
  13. maxpowr

    maxpowr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am liking dolphin! new to the game...so much fun!
     
  14. II Kings 9:20

    II Kings 9:20 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    21
    I am liking your post wtherrell, this is what I want- eliminate the Bing and use Goog only. I like the Xscope browser (was not thrilled with dolphin) and hope it works as well as the Dolphin HD. Too bad Bing has been gutted on this phone, it's actually a good system as I understand but has been ruined by VZW on this phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...