Root gone wrong


Last Updated:

  1. lilbitmawhney

    lilbitmawhney Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I rooted my NC last year at this time with CM7. The wifi never worked since doing so. I'm trying to finally fix it. Can i restore it back to its original state? If so what is the best program to root it too if I decide to root again?

    Damien
     

    Advertisement
  2. colchiro

    colchiro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    1,784
  3. lilbitmawhney

    lilbitmawhney Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. colchiro

    colchiro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Root means stock rom, but the ability to install Google Play Store and any app you want.

    If by "Root" you mean a custom rom, then I'd install CM7 or CM7 Mirage or other CM7 variant.

    My experience has been that installing CM9 or CM10 is cool, but the hardware isn't fast enough to make it a pleasant (smooth) experience. YMMV.
     
  5. lilbitmawhney

    lilbitmawhney Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so since cm7 does not seem to work for me I guess i just want stock rom and the ability to d/l any app I want..
     
  6. colchiro

    colchiro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    It doesn't work because something went wrong. :D

    It depends on what you want. If you want a reader that can also do other things, go stock. If you want a tablet, that can also read books, then go CM7. Directions for both are at that link. (IMO CM7 would be easier than restoring to stock AND rooting it.)
     
  7. tube517

    tube517 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,211
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    I agree as I tried CM9 and it would lag and reboot. I am on Paranoid Android and it has been very good, so far. I stayed at 1100 mhz as 1200 didn't play well. It is stable, so far (still cannot figure out that netflix apk but that's for another thread).

    (Off topic)Just noticed, Colchiro, you don't have the "Guide" status? Whassup with that? Also, I didn't know you had a Gnex. I just got mine a month ago.:)
     
  8. colchiro

    colchiro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    "Guide" was getting to be more work than I wanted (patrolling other forums) so I dropped it. It would come in hand at times tho. :D

    Yes, love the N7. Almost bought the N10, but JB came out for my Touchpad, which was almost as good.
     
  9. lilbitmawhney

    lilbitmawhney Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    So my cm 7.1 encore is working. I'm trying to do the steps seen here: http://androidforums.com/nookcolor-...dirty-upgrade-your-cm7-using-rom-manager.html to update to 7.2 and update my nightlies. It says I need rom manager premium before i can d/l any of this stuff, is this true or am I doing something wrong?
     
  10. lilbitmawhney

    lilbitmawhney Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Forget my last question. I was able to upgrade to cm 7.2. I assume I'll be able to download my nightlies as well. Although i'm not exactly sure what they do yet lol..
     
  11. lilbitmawhney

    lilbitmawhney Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    It won't let me update nightlies. Am I doing something wrong?
     
  12. colchiro

    colchiro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Use goo manager to DL roms. Rom manager isn't up to date anymore.
     
    tube517 likes this.
  13. lilbitmawhney

    lilbitmawhney Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    What cpu clock settings should i have my nook color set to?
     
  14. tube517

    tube517 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,211
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    1100 seems to be the most stable.

    If you try 1200 and it bootloops, then you know it's too high.

    YMMV
     
  15. lilbitmawhney

    lilbitmawhney Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Set both min and max to 1100? Also, it seems to reset the speed after reboot, can i stop that from happening?
     
  16. tube517

    tube517 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,211
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    Set max to 1100 and min to 384 or the lowest setting (can't remember).

    There should be an option to "set on boot" or something similar, so it won't reset the speeds after a reboot.
     
  17. lilbitmawhney

    lilbitmawhney Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    One last thing.. since downloading my nightly google play will not open. How can I resolve this?
     

Share This Page

Loading...