Root N1

Last Updated:

1. DVNO

DVNO Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

So this is a total noob question. I have a tmobile n1 w the ota froyo. I have been curious with the whole root and flash rom thing idea. My question is it worth it? Does the phone get that much faster with a custom rom? I think my n1 is pretty snappy right now but would obviously love it if it were faster! Sorry for the juvenile question, i just dont know much about rooting and i havent seem much about rooting a nexus that has froyo. Thanks.

Advertisement
  2. Talderon

Talderon Well-Known Member

Rooting isn't all about speed. It's about many MANY other things.

Rooting an Android device will allow you to have access equal to Administrator right to the underlying OS. It's called ROOTing because the base OS is a version of Linux and Linux/UNIX systems call the Admin level access ROOT.

Advantages to rooting:

1. You get full OS level access to the device.
    2. This allows you to:
    a. Apply custom Themes (most of the files modded for custom themes are protected and require root access to modify/replace)
    b. Run applications with elevated permissions so you can do things with your device you normally would not be able to do (pre-Froyo, you had to buy an app for tethering or root your phone to run the free ones (as an example)).
    c. Update system files with custom ones that have been tweaked for various reasons (example: install a custom Kernel that will allow you to overclock the CPU for faster performance).
    d. Install custom ROM's that have apps that you cannot uninstall removed for more space, or added features for more customization allowanced.

Disadvantages:

1. For N1 (and most other devices) it voids your warranty