1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Root + OverclockWidget = Insane Battery Life 40+ Hours


Last Updated:

  1. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    I have root and Overclock Widget. I have the CPU scale down to the 200 mhz range when screen off and 998 when screen on. Below is a screen shot after 21 hours off the charger at %49. This puts the phone at almost 2 days before a charge is needed.

    This is not a root thread. Please do not ask for help rooting and lets keep it on topic! :)

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement
  2. teddykgb

    teddykgb Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was just asking about this with SetCPU in another thread. I'll try this out. Thanks!
     
  3. teddykgb

    teddykgb Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    I totally get that this is a noob request, but any way you can post a picture of your settings in the widget?
     
  4. IPvFletch

    IPvFletch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    28
    Hmmm, this seems very interesting and obviously has merit. I will keep watching and learning about this CPU clocking stuff, and maybe explore it one day but for now I'm content with my battery (lasts at least a full day).
     
  5. saccityp

    saccityp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    What widget are you using? setcpu killed my battery
     
  6. teddykgb

    teddykgb Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    He's using Overclock Widget. It's in the market.
     
  7. robtmathias

    robtmathias Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hadnt considered rooting until reading this, but now I am looking at rooting before the week is up. What are the disadvantages to rooting this EVO? Its my first android phone, but I had read a few things about rooting problems with 2.1, etc. Things that wouldnt work right. And other than this, what are some of the great things that will happen after rooting?
     
  8. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Zardos

    Zardos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    15
    Does this work with unrevoked or toast?

    Silly question, does it consume battery to make the cpu change speed.
     
  10. teddykgb

    teddykgb Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Why can't I see the images? Tried it in FF and IE.
     
  11. autorail1

    autorail1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    15
  12. teddykgb

    teddykgb Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    ha, just viewed the images by going to this thread on my Evo. Love it!

    Thanks!
     
  13. autorail1

    autorail1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    15
    I did it with unrevoked and seems to be working.

     
  14. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    My root is toast, says so in my sig :)

    Of course it uses battery to change freq. You use battery every second your phone is on. The question is how much and really changing the frequency isn't using any more battery than idle.
     
    jtcampbell and drew81hot like this.
  15. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    I also checked the box you can't see for Autostart on boot.
     
  16. munsterrr

    munsterrr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    4
    OHH MAN OHH MAN OHH MAN!1!!!

    downloaded, installed, set up. Phone is off to get a full 100% charge. IF this works...im getting you ALLLL the prostitutes and turkey sandwiches you could ever want lol.
     
  17. autorail1

    autorail1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    15
    I also checked supress Notification to prevent it from notifing me that clock speed was changed when I turn on screen.
     
  18. zaltol

    zaltol Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    3
    This looks promising, will keep an eye on this.
    I'll be using it via unrevoked if I do end up using it.
     
  19. kathrynhr

    kathrynhr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    45
    ROTFL! I just spit my soda all over my desk! :D
     
  20. avacomputers

    avacomputers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    31
    I'm trying this when I get my evo tonight. Thanks
     
  21. vladgur

    vladgur Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    If this trully works, I don't understand why is this not a default behavior in Android OS
     
  22. IPvFletch

    IPvFletch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    28
    +1 - you'd think Google could have achieved this internally, no?
     
  23. v01rider

    v01rider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    169
    +1!!!
     
  24. autorail1

    autorail1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    15
    Hey I forget where to find the info in your screen shot. Whats it under to see % of battery life and temp.

     
  25. freeza

    freeza Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    168
    This is awesome, but can the same thing be achieved with SetCPU, without a widget? The widget for this program is ugly and I don't want it there.
     

Share This Page

Loading...