root process may be quicker than you think. I need to confirm screen message


Last Updated:

  1. greysight

    greysight Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hello everyone. I need someone to tell me is this message is important. I tried a few root steps and nothing worked. Then i tried the process skipping a few parts and was able to get to the "apply update screen" in blue type.

    BUT..... at the bottom of my screen i get the following message
    "e: cant open /cache/recovery/command"

    My question is... will this affect a successful root? or can i ignore this. I did not want to risk bricking my phone so I did not try to go past this point. BUT... the method i tried brought me to the update screen every time (3 times consecutive with no problems)

    I would also like to add i reached the update screen after a computer reboot as well with this method.

    I will post what steps i left out if this error message is not important

    Let me know.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Shotgunx1x

    Shotgunx1x Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    16
    This message sounds like you did not successfully get adb shell to work. Maybe you typed in abd shell and tried to continue?
     
  3. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    192
    I don't know what the message means, but it has not bearing on whether or not you can root. It shows up if you get the shell to connect in recovery and if you don't.

    I'm in:

    [​IMG]

    and it's still there:

    [​IMG]

    sorry for the size of the pics
     
  4. Shotgunx1x

    Shotgunx1x Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    16
    Oh, you are fine, ignore that message, my incredible said the same thing. Just continue to follow the 10 minute video by selecting apply sdcard:update.zip and entering the correct commands in the cmd.
     
  5. billster2006

    billster2006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    8
    what was your method?
     
  6. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    192
    you can get to the update screen no matter what. the important part is getting the shell to connect while you're in recovery. I'm assuming you got it connect? (see screenshot #1 above)
     
  7. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    192
  8. Shotgunx1x

    Shotgunx1x Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    16
    He wants to know greysight's method getting into adb shell.
     
  9. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    192
    We don't even know if he did. He says he tried a few times, unsuccessfully, and then skipped a few parts and got to the recovery screen...never mentioned anything about a confirmation that he was "in".
     
  10. greysight

    greysight Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
     
  11. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    192
    you have to be connected to the shell in order to push the necessary files to the phone. Are you successfully connected? Are you running the loop.bat file and get the error that is in my screenshot (#1) above?
     
  12. greysight

    greysight Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    This is my process
    1 used the adb shell to run the loop bat
    2 with the loop already running plugged in my phone and turned it on by pressing the power and the trackball
    3 went into recovery
    4 waited a few second then pressed volume up and power

    the update screen appeared but i did not get the ""exec '/system/bin/sh' failed: No such file or directory (2) -" message on my cmd which may be vital to successfully getting root to work i am not sure.... that is why i am asking you guys to make sure my phone or no one else's for that matter gets bricked by this method.

    This is why i wanted to hold off on my telling my steps just in case the
    "e: cant open /cache/recovery/command" was a warning sign not to go any further with the process.

    I don't wanna screw up anyone's phone
     
  13. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    192
    if you didn't get "exec '/system/bin/sh' failed: No such file or directory (2) -", pull the battery and try again. you MUST get this error in order to root.
     
  14. greysight

    greysight Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    K

    didnt know if i stumbled on a short cut
     
  15. tudmf

    tudmf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    27
     
  16. greysight

    greysight Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    thanks guys... sorry for the false alarm
     
  17. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    192
    no problem
     

Share This Page

Loading...